Social Sciences | Graduate courses | University of Oxford
Open book
A book lying open
(Image Credit: Jazmin Quaynor)

Social Sciences

The Social Sciences Division comprises the largest grouping of social sciences in the UK, home to fourteen outstanding departments, including the Saïd Business School and the Blavatnik School of Government.

Oxford's Social Sciences departments are committed to research that develops a greater understanding of all aspects of our complex society, from the impact of political, legal and economic systems on social and economic welfare to human rights and security, disseminating this research through innovative graduate courses.

A wide range of courses is offered, many of which are recognised by the UK Research Councils and provide preparation for doctoral work, as well as being discrete programmes of advanced study in their own right; others provide a professional qualification. All are rooted in research of international standing and students have access to a well-resourced, active research environment. 

The purpose-built Centre for Advanced Studies in the Social Sciences, adjacent to the Faculty of Law houses the Department of Economics and Department of Politics and International Relations. This building also houses the Bodleian Social Science Library and provides exceptional facilities for master's and research students.

As one of the major providers of social science research in the UK, the University, in collaboration with Brunel University and the Open University, hosts the “Grand Union Doctoral Training Partnership”, one of fourteen Doctoral Training Partnerships accredited by the Economic and Social Research Council (ESRC) as part of a Doctoral Training Network. ESRC DTP studentships are available in a wide variety of training pathways in the social sciences, for both DPhil and master's-to-DPhil programmes.

Courses offered by the division

Was this page useful?*