Chaplaincy | University of Oxford
Chaplaincy
Oxford University is a richly diverse community, and students and members of staff will find a wide variety of places and forms of religious worship in and around the City centre.

Chaplaincy

Oxford University is a richly diverse community, and students and members of staff will find a wide variety of places and forms of religious worship in and around the City centre.

Chaplaincy and Chapel arrangements during the Coronavirus Pandemic

College Chaplains, Chapels and chaplaincy for all faiths and none are operating in colleges and across the university. Please check individual college chapel, student faith societies or faith chaplains' websites for precise details of activities, groups and worship including choral services to ascertain local arrangements.

A list of those contact details can be found immediately below this text as well as on the student faith societies webpage

It is anticipated that chaplains will be available to meet one to one online and some may be offering meetings in person, where possible. If you have religious needs or particular needs for a forthcoming faith celebration then please get in touch with the relevant chaplain or college chapel/ faith contact as early as possible so they can support you as appropriate at this time. If you are unsure who to contact, email any college chaplain and they will be only too glad to signpost and assist as the chaplains enjoy good collaborative relationships across all denominations and faiths and meet together on a regular basis.

Oxford is a superb University and city in which to explore faith. We hope you relish the opportunities afforded in this diverse community with its rich heritage, where so many faiths co-exist peacefully and enjoy serving the needs of the local community.

College chaplain contacts

All Souls College

The Very Rev'd John Drury
Tel: 01865 279368
Email: john.drury@all-souls.ox.ac.uk / alls0204@nexus.ox.ac.uk

Balliol

The Rev'd Bruce Kinsey
Tel: 01865 277716
Email: bruce.kinsey@theology.ox.ac.uk
Website: www.balliol.ox.ac.uk/chapel

Blackfriars

Fr Gregory Schnackenberg
Email: john.schnakenberg@bfriars.ox.ac.uk

Brasenose College

The Rev'd Julia Baldwin
Tel: 01865 277833
Email: chaplain@bnc.ox.ac.uk  
Chapel website: https://www.bnc.ox.ac.uk/current-students/college-life/chapel

Christ Church

The Rev'd Clare Hayns
Tel: 01865 276236
Email: clare.hayns@chch.ox.ac.uk
Website: http://www.chch.ox.ac.uk/chaplain

Corpus Christi College

The Rev'd Canon Dr Judith Maltby
Tel: 01865 276722
Email: judith.maltbyt@ccc.ox.ac.uk
Website: www.ccc.ox.ac.uk/Chapel

Exeter College

The Rev'd Andrew Allen
Tel: 01865 279610
Email: andrew.allen@exeter.ox.ac.uk

Green Templeton College

No Chaplain

Harris Manchester College

Rev'd Susannah Reide
Tel: 01865 (2)71036
Email: susannah.reide@hmc.ox.ac.uk 
Website: http://www.hmc.ox.ac.uk/discover/our-chapel

Hertford College

The Rev'd Mia Smith
Tel: 01865 279455
Email: mia.smith@hertford.ox.ac.uk 
Website: www.hertford.ox.ac.uk/my-hertford/chapel

Jesus College

The Rev'd Dr John Findon (interim chaplain)
Tel: 01865 279757
Email: chaplain@jesus.ox.ac.uk 
Website: https://www.jesus.ox.ac.uk/about-jesus-college/jesus-college-chapel/chaplain

Keble College

The Rev'd Nevsky Everett
The Rev'd Darren McFarland (Assistant Chaplain)
Tel: 01865 272725
Email: Nevsky.everett@keble.ox.ac.uk

Kellogg College

Rev'd Dr Alistair Ross (Pastoral Advisor)
Email: Alistair.ross@kellogg.ox.ac.uk

Lady Margaret Hall

The Rev'd Andrew Forshew-Cain
Tel: 07812 453230
Email: chaplain@lmh.ox.ac.uk 

Linacre College

No Chaplain

Lincoln College

The Rev'd Andy Shamel
Tel: 01865 277905
Email: chaplain@lincoln.ox.ac.uk      
Chapel website: https://lincoln.ox.ac.uk/discover/the-chapel

Magdalen College

The Revd Dr Andrew Bowyer
Tel: 01865 276027
Email: andrew.bowyer@magd.ox.ac.uk 
Chapel website: https://www.magd.ox.ac.uk/chapel-and-choir/chapel-services/

Mansfield College

Rev’d Sarah Farrow
Email: sarah.farrow@mansfield.ox.ac.uk

Merton College

The Rev'd Canon Dr Simon Jones (Chaplain)
Email: simon.jones@merton.ox.ac.uk
The Revd Dr Melanie Marshall (Associate Chaplain)
Website: https://www.merton.ox.ac.uk/chapel 

New College

Rev'd Dr Erica Longfellow
Email: chaplain@new.ox.ac.uk

Nuffield College

No Chaplain

Oriel College

The Rev'd Dr Robert Wainwright
Tel: 01865 276580
Email: chaplain@oriel.ox.ac.uk
Chapel website: https://www.oriel.ox.ac.uk/life-oriel/chapel

Pembroke College

The Rev'd Andrew Teal
Tel: 01865 286276
Email: andrew.teal@pmb.ox.ac.uk

The Queen's College

Katherine Price
Tel: 01865 279143
Email: katherine.price@queens.ox.ac.uk
Website: www.queens.ox.ac.uk/chapel

Regent's Park College

The Rev'd Esther Mason
Tel: 01865 288140
Email: esther.mason@regents.ox.ac.uk 

Website: www.rpc.ox.ac.uk/about-regents/chaplaincy

Somerville College

Chapel Contact: Monty (Utkarsh Sharma)
Email: chapel.office@some.ox.ac.uk

St Anne's College

No Chaplain

St Antony's College

No Chaplain

St Benet's Hall

The Rev'd Gabriel Everitt OSB
Email: gabriel.everitt@stb.ox.ac.uk

St Catherine's College

No Chaplain

St Cross

No Chaplain

St Edmund Hall

Chapel website: https://www.seh.ox.ac.uk/discover/explore-teddy-hall/chapel

St Hilda's College

Chaplain: Suzan Meryem Rosita Kalayci
Email: suzan.kalayci@st-hildas.ox.ac.uk 

St Hugh's College

The Rev'd Dr Shaun Henson
Tel: 01865 274955
Email: shaun.henson@st-hughs.ox.ac.uk
Website: www.st-hughs.ox.ac.uk/chapel

St John's College

The Rev'd Dr Elizabeth Macfarlane
Email: elizabeth.macfarlane@sjc.ox.ac.uk

St Peter's College

The Rev'd  Dr Elizabeth Pitkethly
Email: elizabeth.pitkethly@spc.ox.ac.uk

Trinity College

The Rev'd Emma Percy
Tel: 01865 279886
Fax: 01865 279902
Email: emma.percy@trinity.ox.ac.uk

University Church

The Revd Dr William Lamb
Tel: 01865 279114
Email: vicar@universitychurch.ox.ac.uk
Website: www.universitychurch.ox.ac.uk

University College

The Rev'd Dr Andrew Gregory
Email: andrew.gregory@univ.ox.ac.uk
Website: www.univ.ox.ac.uk/node/337

Wadham College

Rev'd Dr Jane Baun 
Email: chaplain@wadham.ox.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1865 277905
Website: https://www.wadham.ox.ac.uk/about-wadham/chapel

Wolfson College

No Chaplain

Worcester College

Rev'd Dr Tess Kuin Lawton
Email: chaplain@worc.ox.ac.uk 
Chapel website: https://www.worc.ox.ac.uk/applying/graduates/student-life/chapel-and-choir

Wycliffe Hall

The Rev'd Sarah Flashman
Email: sarah.flashman@wycliffe.ox.ac.uk
Chapel website: https://www.wycliffe.ox.ac.uk/staff-profiles#collapse1265626

Other contacts for religious worship

Buddhist

The Oxford Buddha Vihara (Oxford)

Website: www.oxfordbuddhavihara.org.uk

Catholic Chaplaincy

Email: catholic.chaplaincy@ox.ac.uk
Website: www.catholic-chaplaincy.org.uk

Hindu Chaplaincy

Shaunaka Rishi Das
Tel: 01865 304303
Email: shaunaka@ochs.org.uk
Oxford Centre for Hindu Studies: https://ochs.org.uk

Jewish Chaplaincy

(Oxford and Oxford Brookes Universities)

Rabbi Michael and Tracey Rosenfeld-Schueler
Tel: 07717 742835
Email: michael@mychaplaincy.co.uk
Email: tracey@mychaplaincy.co.uk

Oxford University Chabad Society and Chabad House of Oxford
email: oxfordchabad@gmail.com
website: www.oxfordchabad.org

Methodist Chaplaincy

Revd Martin Wellings
Email: martin.wellings@oxfordmethodists.org.uk

Muslim Chaplaincy

Afifi Al-Akiti
Email: afifi.al-akiti@worc.ox.ac.uk
Professor Muhammad Talib
Tel: 01865 288531
Email: muhammad.talib@anthro.ox.ac.uk

Orthodox Christian Chaplaincy

The Very Revd Ian Graham (Greek Orthodox)
Email: rian_graham@yahoo.co.uk
The Very Revd Stephen Platt (Russian Orthodox)
Email: fr.stephen.platt@gmail.com

Oxford Pastorate

The Revd Dr Jonathan Brant
Oxford Pastorate Chaplain to Graduate Students
Tel: 07854 771041
Email: jonathan.brant@oxfordpastorate.org
Website: www.oxfordpastorate.org

Quaker Chaplaincy

Tas Cooper
Email: tascooper@hotmail.com
Tel: 07849247171

Suzan Meryem Rosita Kalayci
Email: suzan.kalayci@st-hildas.ox.ac.uk

Website: https://oxfordquakers.org/ 

URC Chaplain (Minister of St Columba’s)

https://www.saintcolumbas.org/about-us/contact-details 

Was this page useful?*