who inspired you
who inspired you

Inspirational Teachers Award

Since 2010, the University of Oxford has run a scheme to recognise inspirational teachers from UK schools and colleges.

This award scheme recognises the crucial role teachers play in encouraging talented students in their schools or colleges. Each academic year, current first-year Oxford undergraduates from UK state schools or colleges with a limited history of sending students to Oxford are asked if they would like to nominate an inspirational teacher. 

The Inspirational Teachers Awards are a way of recognising the importance of school or college teachers in encouraging bright students to realise their potential and make a successful application to Oxford.

In 2020 the University of Oxford is honouring ten teachers with an award. All were nominated by students currently in their first year at Oxford. 

Inspirational Teacher Award Winners 2020

Congratulations to all this year's winners and nominated teachers!

Abigail Newell, formerly of Consett Academy in Consett, Durham, North East England. Nominated by Chloe Walker studying Medicine at Brasenose College.

Elisabeth Igbokwe of Enfield Grammar School in Enfield, Middlesex, South East England. Nominated by Sean Sinanan studying Philosophy, Politics and Economics (PPE) at Mansfield College.

Leanne Straw of Quarrydale Academy in Sutton in Ashfield, Nottinghamshire, East Midlands. Nominated by Bryony Toon studying Law at Brasenose College.

Lisa Dixon of Jesmond Park Academy in Newcastle-upon-Tyne, North East England. Nominated by Hisham El Edrissi Reyahi studying Philosophy, Politics and Economics (PPE) at Somerville College.

May Sharp of Caledonian University Advanced Higher Hub in Glasgow, Scotland. Nominated by Christopher O'Neil studying History and Politics at Brasenose College.

Michael Jones of National Church of England Academy in Hucknall, Nottinghamshire, East Midlands. Nominated by George Newton studying Modern Languages at Hertford College.

Natasha Hunt of Coundon Court School in Coventry, West Midlands. Nominated by Jane Keenleyside studying English Language and Literature at Keble College.

Stephanie Fontaine, formerly of All Saints Catholic School in Dagenham, London. Nominated by Mari Preka studying Geography at Brasenose College.

Stuart Macaulay of Rooks Heath College in Harrow, Middlesex, South East England. Nominated by Fathiya Abdillahi studying Classics at Queen’s College.

Dr Tracey Sweet of Brixham College in Brixham, Devon, South West England. Nominated by Sophie Glover studying Biomedical Sciences at University College.


Media and Press Coverage


  • Hub's May wins Oxford University Inspirational Teacher Award

See all our previous winners on our Oxford People Videowall.

If you have any enquiries regarding the awards, please contact teachers@admin.ox.ac.uk