Past Clarendon Scholars' Council addressing the scholars
Credit: Cyrus Mower

Clarendon Scholars' Council

The Council’s goal is to foster a positive, stimulating and inspiring academic community which serves as a launch pad for the future.

The Clarendon Scholars’ Council is at the heart of the Clarendon community and vital to the ongoing success of the scholarships. The Clarendon Scholars’ Council is made up of a number of annually elected positions and includes the Official Member, a permanent representative from the University. The Council is, by resolution, responsible for advancing the Clarendon Scholars’ Association objectives and the management of the allocated funding for this purpose. Their primary role is to help facilitate the activities of the Clarendon Scholars’ Association by organising a range of events across the year.
The Clarendon Scholars' Association website is:

The President is the elected leader of the Clarendon Scholars’ Association and the Clarendon Scholars’ Council. The President is responsible for the development of the Council's vision and goals, overseeing its activities, and serving as the public face of the Council. 

Matilda Eriksson

Matilda is in her second year of a DPhil in History at Lady Margaret Hall.

The Vice-President is responsible for the discharge of the regulations, management of Council and the Clarendon Scholars’ Association administration as well as providing support to the President in achieving the Council’s goals.

Motema Letlatsa

Motema is studying for a DPhil in Education at Lady Margaret Hall.

The Treasurer is responsible for managing the financial affairs for the Clarendon Scholars’ Association and the Council.

Yiu Fung 'Brian' Chiu

Brian is in the first year of his DPhil in Condensed Matter Physics at Worcester College.


The Secretaries are each responsible for different social and academic aspects for the Council. The key goal is to drive a connection between members of the Clarendon Scholars’ Association.

Academic Secretary

Sophia Abusamra

Alumni and Careers Secretary

Yalda Jafari (re-elected from last year's Council)

Cultural Secretary

Faojia Sultana

Communications Secretary

Iulia Kis

Outreach Secretary

Lingxuan Chen

Dining Secretary

Rice (Yiu Ching) Siu (re-elected from last year's Council)

Diversity Secretary

Moosa Waraich (until 10 April 2024)

External Secretary

Zizheng Zhang

IT Secretary

Yiming Wei (re-elected from last year's Council)

Social Secretary

Shannon Russell