New Year Honours 2013 | University of Oxford

New Year Honours 2013

Five Oxford University academics have been recognised in the New Year Honours, announced on 29 December.

Professor Hew Strachan, Chichele Professor of the History of War and Fellow of All Souls College, is knighted for services to the Ministry of Defence. A distinguished military historian and an authority on the First World War, Sir Hew is a member of the Commonwealth War Graves Commission and of the Chief of the Defence Staff’s Strategic Advisory Panel, and an advisor to the Joint Parliamentary Committee on National Security Strategy. In 2010 he chaired the Prime Minister’s Taskforce on the Military Covenant.

Professor Carol Robinson, Royal Society Professor, Dr Lee’s Professor of Chemistry and Fellow of Exeter College, is made a DBE for services to science and industry. Dame Carol is a renowned chemist who has made major advances in the application of mass spectroscopy to the analysis of proteins and other large molecules.

Professor David M Clark, Professor of Experimental Psychology and Fellow of Magdalen College, is appointed CBE for services to mental health. Professor Clark's research focuses on cognitive approaches to the understanding and treatment of anxiety disorders and has led to the development of new and effective cognitive therapy programmes for panic disorder, hypochondriasis, social phobia and post-traumatic stress disorder. He is National Clinical Advisor for the UK's Improving Access to Psychological Therapies programme.

Professor Raymond Dwek, Director of the Glycobiology Institute, Emeritus Professor of Glycobiology and Emeritus Fellow of Exeter College, is made a CBE for services to UK-Israel scientific collaboration. He is Special Advisor on Biotechnology to the President of Ben Gurion University of the Negev and played an instrumental role in helping to establish the National Institute for Biotechnology in the Negev.

Professor Judith Freedman, Professor of Taxation Law and Fellow of Worcester College, is made a CBE for services to tax research. Her work focuses on corporate and business taxation. She has served on a number of Law Society, DTI and Inland Revenue Committees and advisory groups and is currently a member of the Office of Tax Simplification Consultative Committee on Small Business Taxation and the Tax Avoidance Study Group.

Also honoured is Professor Les Iversen, Visiting Professor in the Department of Pharmacology, who is appointed CBE for services to pharmacology. Professor Iversen is the Chair of the Advisory Council on the Misuse of Drugs.