Queen's Anniversary Prize presented | University of Oxford

Queen's Anniversary Prize presented

Professor Andrew Hamilton, Vice-Chancellor of the University of Oxford, and Professor David Macdonald CBE, founding director of WildCRU, were presented with the Queen’s Anniversary Prize by Her Majesty the Queen and the Duke of Edinburgh earlier today (24 February).

The presentation ceremony took place at Buckingham Palace where the prize-winners received a silver gilt medal and certificate signed personally by the Queen. The Prize is given in acknowledgement of Oxford University’s Wildlife Conservation Research Unit (WildCRU)’s outstanding work in wildlife and environmental conservation. It is the eighth time that the University has been awarded the Prize, more than any other university.

WildCRU was founded in 1986 by the University to apply original scientific research to achieve practical solutions to conservation problems. Based within Oxford’s Department of Zoology, and Lady Margaret Hall, it was the first university-based institute in Europe to focus on wildlife conservation research. It has its headquarters at the Recanati-Kaplan Centre at Tubney House, Oxfordshire.

Oxford University has now won eight Queen's Anniversary Prizes for Higher Education, more than any other university. The previous seven prizes were awarded to: the University's museums, libraries and archives (2009); the Oxford Dictionary of National Biography at Oxford University Press (2007), the Clinical Trial Service Unit (2005), the Refugee Studies Centre (2002), the Centre for Clinical Vaccinology & Tropical Medicine (2000), the Weatherall Institute of Molecular Medicine (1996), and Isis Innovation Ltd (1994).