The University as a charity

The University of Oxford is an exempt charity under the terms of the Charities Act 2011 and its principal regulatory body is the Office for Students.

The address for correspondence is as follows:

University of Oxford
University Offices
Wellington Square

The University of Oxford is a civil corporation established under common law, which was formally incorporated by the Act for Incorporation of Both Universities 1571 under the name of 'The Chancellor Masters and Scholars of the University of Oxford', but is more commonly referred to as the University of Oxford or Oxford University. Further information on the corporate and charitable status is available on the University's Legal Services.

The University has no charter; the University's Statutes and Regulations set out the constitutional framework within which it operates. The current Statutes and Regulations are available online. In accordance with its obligations as a charity, a copy of the Statutes in force from 1 August 2022 to 31 July 2023 is available as a PDF. This shows changes to the statutes during the previous academic year and is updated on an annual basis. A commentary on the University's governance structure can be found on the governance pages.

The mission and objectives of the University are set out in the Strategic Plan. Facts and figures on the University can be found in the Financial Statements and the Annual Review.

The charity trustees of the University are the members of Council, the University's executive body. A list of Council members as at 31 January 2024, which provides the names of other charities of which the University’s trustees are also a trustee, is available as a PDF. Information on Council's primary responsibilities and its current membership are available online.

The University is the reporting charity for a number of linked charities. Details will be available online in due course.

Was this page useful?*