Listen to the winner of Oxford's first electronic music prize

Matt Pickles

The winner of the first Oxford/Sennheiser Electronic Music Prize (OSEMP) can be heard here.

Launched last year, the competition received more than 100 entries. Ten finalists were chosen to perform their composition in front of a live audience and a judging panel of leading electroacoustic composers Natasha Barrett and Trevor Wishart and Oxford University's Professor of Composition Martyn Harry.

The judges chose Samuel Barnes' composition The Nature in Devices as the winner. Sam Kendall's One Fast Move or I'm Gone and Daniel Cioccoloni's Deep Time came second and third respectively.

Samuel responded to his win on Twitter, saying: 'Delighted, shocked and honoured to have been awarded first place at OSEMP. A wonderful evening of inspiring new music!'

Eric Clarke, Heather Professor of Music at Oxford's Faculty of Music, said: 'OSEMP attracted a huge field of entries, ten outstanding finalists and three extremely talented winners. In many ways, though, it was the audience in the packed Jacqueline du Pré music building who were the real winners. They were fortunate to be present at a memorable evening of terrific music. We’re already looking forward to next year!'

OSEMP was sponsored by audio specialists Sennheiser, which has also supported the Oxford Surround Composition and Research studio at (OSCaR) - a bespoke, state-of-the-art electronic music studio which opened in the University last year. The competition, which was also supported by Warp Records, aimed to find the most innovative new works in electronic music by composers aged 35 and under.