42 new Fellows have been elected by the British Academy
The British Academy
British Academy

British Academy Prizes and Medals announced

Oxford University academics are among the winners of the British Academy's 2016 Prizes and Medals, which have been announced today.

Dr Margaret Bent CBE FBA has won the Derek Allen Prize for Musicology for her contribution to the field of musicology, in particular English, French and Italian music from the fourteenth to sixteenth centuries.

Dr Sebastian Brock FBA has won the Edward Ullendorff Medal for Semitic Languages and Ethiopian Studies, in recognition of his extensive contribution to the study of Syriac language and literature.

The prestigious President’s Medal for services to the humanities and social sciences, which is awarded to individuals who play important roles in Britain’s cultural life, went to Dr Leofranc Holford-Strevens. He held the positions of proof-reader, copy editor and finally Consultant Scholar Editor at Oxford University Press from 1971 until his retirement in 2011.

Lord Stern, President of the British Academy, said: 'We are delighted to celebrate the success of this year’s winners, who have excelled in scholarship, research and promoting public understanding across the humanities and social sciences. These awards play an important part in the Academy’s work to support and recognise academics at every level of their career, and I am pleased to see the breadth of work taking place across the Academy’s disciplines.'