New British Academy fellows announced

Seven Oxford academics are among the 38 to be elected a Fellow of the British Academy for 2011.

The new Fellows are Professor Oliver Braddick of the Department of Experimental Psychology, Professor Vincent Crawford of the Department of Economics, Professor John Darwin and Professor Jane Humphries of the Faculty of History, Professor Martin Stokes of the Faculty of Music, Professor Helen Watanabe-O'Kelly of the Faculty of Medieval and Modern Languages, and Professor Lucia Zedner of the Law Faculty.

The British Academy is the UK's national academy for the promotion of the humanities and social sciences.  It is an independent, self-governing body of more than 900 Fellows, including Marina Warner, Seamus Heaney, Eric Hobsbawm and Lord Bragg.

Sir Adam Roberts, President of the Academy said: 'The new Fellows, who come from 23 institutions across the UK, have outstanding expertise across the board – from social policy and government, to sign language and music. Our Fellows play a vital role in sustaining the Academy's activities – from identifying excellence to be supported by research awards, to contributing to policy reports and speaking at the Academy's public events. Their presence in the Academy will help it to sustain its support for research across the humanities and social sciences, and to inspire public interest in these disciplines.'

 Professor Oliver Braddick is Emeritus Professor of Experimental Psychology and co-director of the Visual Development Unit, which has linked programmes of research in Oxford and University College London. His research focuses on visual perception and its development in early childhood. He was head of Oxford’s Department of Experimental Psychology from 2001-2011, and is a Fellow of the Academy of Medical Sciences.

 Professor Vincent Crawford is Drummond Professor of Political Economy and has been a Fellow of All Souls College since 2010. His teaching and research interests are primarily in economic theory and the field of behavioural and experimental economics. He has been a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences since 2003.

 Professor John Darwin is the Beit Lecturer in the History of the Commonwealth and a Fellow of Nuffield College. His teaching and research centre on the theory and history of empires, including decolonisation, and the politics of the British imperial system.

 Professor Jane Humphries is Professor of Economic History and has been a Fellow of All Souls College since 1998. Her research interests include economic growth and development and the industrial revolution. She is the current president of the Economic History Society and editor of the Economic History Review.

 Professor Martin Stokes is University Lecturer in Ethnomusicology and Tutorial Fellow at St. John's College. He is an ethnomusicologist with a particular interest in social and cultural theory, and a 2010 winner of the Royal Musical Association's Dent Medal for contributions to musicology.

 Professor Helen Watanabe-O'Kelly is Chair of the Faculty of Medieval and Modern Languages and a fellow of Exeter College, specialising in German literature and culture in the period 1450-1750. She has worked extensively on the culture of the European courts, on writing by women and on the representation of women in German literature from 1500 to the present. 

 Professor Lucia Zedner is Professor of Criminal Justice in the Faculty of Law and a fellow of Corpus Christi College, and a member of the Centre for Criminology, University of Oxford.  She is also a Conjoint Professor in the Faculty of Law at the University of New South Wales, Sydney. Her research interests include criminal justice, penal theory, and security and counter-terrorism law and policy.

The British Academy, established by Royal Charter in 1902, champions and supports the humanities and social sciences. It aims to inspire, recognise and support excellence and high achievement across the UK and internationally.