Concert 3 - Count down

J. Bliss, G. Eckersley, M. Owen, J. Liebeck, B. Roskams, C. Miles, S. Watton
Event date
Event time
20:00 - 22:30
St John the Evangelist Music Centre
109a Iffley Road
Event type
Event cost
£23/£18 or £13/£10 (free for those 25 or younger under the Cavatina scheme)
Disabled access?
Booking required

F. Berwald: Grand Septet for clarinet, bassoon, horn, violin, viola, cello and double bass in B-flat major
R. Vaughan-Williams: Piano Quintet in C minor
J. Brahms: Piano Quartet No. 2 in A major, Op. 26

The stage, very full for the delightful and undeservedly neglected septet by Franz Berwald, gradually empties as our second evening concert progresses. The Vaughan-Williams piano quintet is also a newcomer to the Festival. Composed between 1903-5, it was greatly influenced by our final composer, Brahms. His A major quartet is one of his finest works, infrequently programmed because of its length. It too is a first at the Festival, completing our survey of Brahms’ wonderful piano quartets.