Come Follow Me - Echoes, Canons, and Birdsong for Recorder, Violins, and Continuo

Instruments of Time and Truth
Event date
Event time
20:00 - 21:00
Christ Church Cathedral
St Aldates
Event type
Event cost
£18 Standard / £9 Students/OU Staff / Under-26s Free
Disabled access?
Booking required

A programme of echoes, canons, and other three-part violin music from the Baroque, featuring Pachelbel’s Canon and Purcell’s bewitching Three parts upon a Ground.

The programme also includes Marini’s ‘Sonata in Ecco con tre Violini’, in which the two echoing violins are instructed to remain hidden out of sight.

Schmelzer’s Sonata a tre violini further explores the unusual sonority of three interweaving violin parts. William Williams’ Trio Sonata for recorder and violin, and Walther’s solo sonata 'Imitatione del Cuccu' evoke a woodland environment, full of echoes and birdsong. We play with the idea of the cathedral and the forest being an echo of each other’s environment in Marais’s Sonnerie de St Geneviève du Mont de Paris.

Jean Paterson, Kirra Thomas, Melanie Gruwez* - Violin
Catherine Latham - Recorder
Imogen Seth-Smith - Viola da Gamba
Steven Grahl - Harpsichord

*IT&T Early Career Artist

This concert is part of the Instruments of Time and Truth Summer Concert Series 2023, and is generously supported by John Osborn.

Instruments of Time and Truth are Oxford’s own period instrument orchestra, presenting world-class performances of Baroque and Classical music in Oxford and around the UK.

Free tickets are available for audience members under 26 thanks to the support of the CAVATINA Chamber Music Foundation.

Discover a world of music and enjoy all six of Instruments of Time and Truth's Summer Concerts at Christ Church for a reduced price with a series season ticket available from Tickets Oxford until 3 July.