John Hicks Bursary
Chatting in the Front Quad, New College
Copyright © John Cairns Photography. This image comes from Oxford University Images - All rights reserved.

Sir John Hicks Foundation Bursary

The Bursaries have been created through a generous donation from the Sir John Hicks Foundation.

Sir John Hicks, the first Briton to receive the Nobel Prize for Economics (in 1972), was Drummond Professor of Political Economy (1952-65) and Fellow of All Souls College (1952-88). He was one of the most important economists of the twentieth century, with an exceptionally wide ranging and lasting legacy in the discipline of economics.


There are up to five awards valued with a minimum value of £1,000 and these are awarded for one year only.

Eligibility criteria

Students must fulfil all the criteria below in order to be considered:

  • students must be studying for their first undergraduate degree, on one of the following courses: Philosophy, Politics and Economics; History and Economics; Economics and Management
  • students must be entering their second year of study in 2021/22
  • students must be ordinarily resident in the United Kingdom or member state of the European Union
  • students must be in receipt of the Oxford Bursary or Crankstart Scholarship in 2021/22 or have a household income below £42,875
  • awards will be made to students who have demonstrated academic excellence in their first year of study. If your course does not require you to sit exams during your first year, you must provide other examples of how you have achieved academic excellence
  • preference will be given to students who do not already hold a bursary or scholarship that is centrally administered by the University. This does not include the Oxford Bursary or Crankstart Scholarship.

Application process

Applications for 2021/22 are now closed.

Was this page useful?*