Membership of Council as at 31 January 2024

Name	Position	Term
Ex officio members		
Professor Irene Tracey	Vice-Chancellor	1 January 2023-30 September 2030
Dr Kathryn Murphy, Oriel	Senior Proctor	15 March 2023 – 13 March 2024
Professor David Kirk, Nuffield	Junior Proctor	15 March 2023 – 13 March 2024
Professor Joseph Conlon, New College	Assessor	15 March 2023 – 13 March 2024
Dame Helen Ghosh, Master of Balliol	Chair of the Conference of Colleges	1 October 2023 – 30 September 2024
Mr Tom Fletcher, Principal of Hertford	A member of Congregation elected by the Conference of Colleges	1 October 2022 – 30 September 2024
Professor Daniel Grimley, Merton	Head of Humanities Division	From 1 January 2022
Professor James Naismith, Jesus	Head of Mathematical, Physical and Life Sciences Division	From 1 October 2023
Professor Gavin Screaton, Merton	Head of Medical Sciences Division	From 1 October 2017
Professor Timothy Power, St Anthony's	Head of Social Sciences Division	From 1 October 2021
External members		
Mr Charles Harman	One of four persons, not being members, when nominated, of Congregation or resident holders of teaching, research, or administrative posts in the University or in any college or other society or PPH who hall be nominated by Council subject to the approval of congregation	1 July 2017 – 1 January 2027
Mr Nicholas Kroll	As above	1 January 2018 – 1 January 2027
Sir Chris Deverell	As above	1 January 2020 – 1 January 2027
Ms Wendy Becker	As above	1 August 2020 – 1 October 2028
Members elected by Congregation		
Professor Alexander Schekochihin, Merton	One of four members of Congregation elected by Congregation from members of the faculties in the Divisions of Mathematical, Physical and Life Sciences and of Medical Sciences	1 October 2021 – 30 September 2025

Professor Krina Zondervan, St Edmund Hall	As above	1 October 2023 – 30 September 2027	
Professor Proochista Ariana	As above	1 October 2022 – 30 September 2026	
Professor Richard Hobbs, Harris Manchester	As above	30 September 2016 – 30 September 2024	
Professor Sam Wolfe, St Catherine's	One of four members of Congregation elected by Congregation from members of the faculties in the Divisions of Humanities and Social Sciences	1 October 2023 – 30 September 2027	
Professor Diego Sánchez- Ancochea, St Antony's	As above	1 January 2021 – 30 September 2024	
Professor Cécile Fabre, All Souls	As above	1 October 2021 – 30 September 2025	
Professor Nandini Gooptu, St Antony's	As above	1 October 2022 – 30 September 2026	
Professor Sir Charles Godfray, Balliol	One of three members of Congregation, not necessarily being members of any division and not in any case being nominated in a divisional capacity, who shall be elected by Congregation	1 October 2022 – 30 September 2026	
Professor Sir Rory Collins, St John's	As above	1 October 2016 – 30 September 2024	
Professor Patricia Daley, Jesus	As above	1 October 2021 – 30 September 2025	
Co-opted members (Council may co-opt up to three members of Congregation as additional members of Council)			
Professor Anne Trefethen, St Cross		1 October 2018 – 31 December 2023	

The charity trustees of the University are the members of Council, the University's executive body. A member of the governing body of a college will also be a charity trustee of that college and may also be a trustee of charities associated with the colleges. The following is a list of all other charities of which each member of Council, as listed above, is also a trustee.

Name	Trusteeships
Professor Sir Rory Collins	Oxford Playhouse
Professor Patricia Daley	Fahamu Trust
Professor Charles Godfray	Food Foundation Lawes Agricultural Trust UK Centre for Ecology and Hydrology
Professor Daniel Grimley	Carice Singers
Professor Richard Hobbs	Primary Care Research Trust
Professor Gavin Screaton	Jenner Vaccine Foundation