Vadym Kholodenko, piano | University of Oxford

Vadym Kholodenko, piano

Event date
Event time
19:30 - 21:15
St John the Evangelist Church
109A Iffley Road
Event type
Event cost
£30, £26, £17; under 25s £10 reduction
Disabled access?
Booking required

Mozart: Piano Sonata in C minor K 457
Schubert: Piano Sonata in A major D 664
Saariaho: Ballade
24 Preludes Op. 11, selection – nos 1-5
Six Preludes Op. 13
Five Preludes, Op. 16
Rachmaninov: Piano Sonata No. 2 in B-flat minor, Op. 36

Vadym Kholodenko’s victory at the 2013 Van Cliburn Competition captivated audiences and critics alike, the Fort Worth Symphony Orchestra immediately appointing him as their first Artist in Partnership. He already had a string of awards to his name, including First Prize at the 2011 Schubert Piano Competition in Dortmund, First Prize at the 2010 Sendai Piano Competition in Japan and the Grand Prix at the Maria Callas Competition in Athens.

Kholodenko has since performed with major orchestras and in recital throughout the USA. His 2017 London debut with the Royal Philharmonic resulted in a re-invitation and elsewhere in Europe he has worked with such orchestras as BBC Scottish Symphony, Malmö Symphony and Orquesta Nacional de España. He is a regular visitor to Japan and has also performed recitals in Beijing and Singapore. In Europe 2018/19 he made his recital debuts at Wigmore Hall, London, Salle Gaveau, Paris and Vienna Konzerthaus.

Kholodenko’s programme for tonight is built around three sonatas: Mozart’s Sonata in C minor, one of only two examples of Mozart’s use of a minor key for a piano sonata, the other being no. 8 in A Minor; Schubert’s joyful and lyrical ‘Little’ sonata written during a happy summer in the Styrian countryside, and to close, the majestic Piano Sonata no. 2 by Rachmaninov.