Iannis Xenakis’ Piano Music: Jonathan Powell (piano)

Jonathan Powell,
Event date
Event time
Jacqueline du Pré Music Building
St Hilda's College
Event type
Event cost
Gallery £12, Stalls £8, Students £8/£5, Livestream £5
Disabled access?
Booking required

Music by Iannis Xenakis alongside works by Hugues Dufourt, Morgan Hayes, Michael Finnissy, Luke Stoneham and a selection of contemporary Lithuanian composers​.

Jonathan Powell presents Xenakis’ complete mature piano music, rarely heard together in one concert. Xenakis was born in Greece but spent his working life in Paris. His radical music has structural parallels with mathematics and architecture (he worked with le Corbusier); it is visceral, dramatic, explosive, dense and crystalline.

Powell will also present a new work by pre-eminent French composer Hugues Dufourt, six works from an ongoing project with Lithuanian composers, two related but contrasting works by Michael Finnissy, and music written especially for Jonathan by two of Finnissy’s most illustrious UK students: Morgan Hayes and Luke Stoneham.

The Pre-Concert Talk at 6:45pm will be Live-streamed as well as the concert from 7:30pm: jdp.st-hildas.ox.ac.uk/livestream


Iannis Xenakis - Herma (1961)
Iannis Xenakis - Evryali (1973)
Iannis Xenakis - Mists (1980)
Iannis Xenakis - à R (1987)
Hugues Dufourt (1943--) - Reine Spannung (2015) UK première
Rytis Mažulis (1961--) - Canon aenigmaticus (1990) UK première
Vidmantas Bartulis (1954--) - Mists/Ūkanos (1985) UK première
Artūras Bumšteinas (1982--) - Cornell/Wagner (2011) UK première
Mykolas Natalevičius (1985--) - Epitafija (2006) UK première
Gailė Griciūtė (1985--) - This Too Will Pass (2015) UK première
Šarūnas Nakas (1962--) - Ketman (2012) UK première
Morgan Hayes (1972--) - Elemental (2014—16) UK première (commissioned with funds from the Britten Pears Foundation)
Michael Finnissy (1946--) - Jazz (1975), Nashville Nightingale (1991)
Luke Stoneham (1967--) - Altawhid (2003)