Concert 2: Friday Night Soirée

Event date
Event time
20:00 - 22:30
SJE Arts
109A, Iffley Road
Event type
Event cost
£23/£18; free for under-26 year olds
Disabled access?
Booking required

Bruch – Octet for strings in B flat major, Op. post.

Gubaidalina – De Profundis for Solo Accordion

Franck – Prelude, Fuge and Variations for Piano and Accordion, Op. 18

Mozart – Piano Concerto K414, arranged for Piano and String Quintet

Katya Apekisheva - piano
Amandine Savary - piano
James Crabb - accordion
Corey Cerovsek - violin
Jack Liebeck - violin
Alexandra Raikhlina - violin
Ilhem ben Khalfa - violin
Simon Oswell - viola
Benjamin Roskams - viola
Thomas Carroll - cello
Benjamin Hughes - cello
Tim Gibbs - double bass

We mark the centenary of Bruch’s death with his wonderful Octet, itself only published after he had died. This is another programme that contains only pieces new to the Festival. It is a delight to programme a piece by distinguished contemporary composer Sophia Gubaidalina, as well as an unusual piece by Cesar Franck. We end with a familiar and wonderful Mozart Piano Concerto, but in chamber music guise!