Clarendon Scholars' Council | Clarendon Scholarships | University of Oxford
Speaker at a Clarendon Scholars welcome event
(Image Credit: Santhy Balachandran, Clarendon Scholar)

Clarendon Scholars' Council

Mission Statement of the Scholars’ Council

The Clarendon Scholars' Council will provide a platform to facilitate professional, academic and social development opportunities through an intellectually and socially interactive community. The Council will provide a network for engagement separate from those of academic departments or college affiliation and bring together uniquely like-minded people for the formation of life-long friendships and shared intellectual curiosity. As a collective group, we will work to promote the reputation and global awareness of the Clarendon Scholarship and Oxford University through a strong alumni network, and internal and external collaborations. The Scholars' Council and developing Clarendon community will both enhance the experience of scholars during their time in Oxford and maintain this connection well beyond the degree process.

Council Positions

The Council for the Clarendon Scholars' Association is comprised of elected council officers and permanent representatives from the University. There is also the possibility of co-opting in casual Council Members to fill casual vacancies for specific tasks relating to the Association’s activities. This means that there is a chance for everyone to get involved with the Association no matter how long they have been at Oxford.

In accordance with the Constitution, the Secretary will announce vacancies in casual positions via email in due course throughout the academic year. The Council holds regular general meetings as well as the AGM and special meetings when required. Members will be informed of these well in advance.

The current Council members are:

President: Mark Brooke, DPhil Oncology

Vice-President: Sylvana Hassanieh, DPhil Clinical Medicine

Treasurer: Thomas Wassenaar, DPhil Clinical Neurosciences

Editor-in-Chief Clarendon Chronicle: Sasha Rasmussen, DPhil History

Administrative & IT Secretary: Evan Hann, DPhil Medical Sciences

Academic Secretary: Adam Stones, DPhil Physical and Theoretical Chemistry

Community Outreach Secretary: Beata Gafka, DPhil Management Studies

Cultural Secretary: Toni Scharle, DPhil Partial Differential Equations: Analysis and Applications (EPSRC CDT)

Diversity Secretary: Linda Qian, DPhil Area Studies (China)

Dining Secretary: Emma Bluemke, DPhil Biomedical Imaging (EPSRC & MRC CDT)

External Secretary: Cory Johnson, MPhil Late Antique and Byzantine Studies

Social Secretary: Ryan Schenck, DPhil Genomic Medicine and Statistics

Was this page useful?*