Appointment of the next Vice-Chancellor | University of Oxford

Appointment of the next Vice-Chancellor

This page contains information about the work of the Nominating Committee for the Vice-Chancellorship.

Gazette notice, 11 December 2014

An update from the Nominating Committee for the Vice-Chancellorship

To inform the early stages of its work, the Committee carried out a consultation across the collegiate University, inviting contributions from individuals, Divisions, departments and faculties, and colleges. In addition, the Committee met twice with representatives of OUSU. All the comments have been taken into account by the Committee and the Committee would like to thank all those who participated in the consultation.

The Committee has now finalised the further particulars for the post. They are available on this page of the University’s website (short url: and they will also be available through Perrett Laver. The closing date for the post is 5 January 2015. The Committee will meet shortly afterwards to consider the applications. The Committee aims to propose a name to Council early in Trinity Term 2015.

If members of the collegiate University have any questions about the work of the Committee, they should contact Emma Rampton, Deputy University Secretary ((2)70002 or

Gazette notice, 30 October 2014


Professor Andrew Hamilton, FRS, completes his term in office as Vice-Chancellor in September 2016 and the Nominating Committee for the Vice-Chancellorship has now begun the process to identify his successor. The committee aims to propose a name to Council early in Trinity term 2015, following which a recommendation will be put to Congregation. The committee has appointed search consultants Perrett Laver to assist in the process.

Request for comments

To inform its early deliberations, the Committee wishes to consult widely. In addition to seeking the views of, among others, departments and faculties, Colleges and OUSU, the Committee welcomes views from individual members of the collegiate University. If you would like to contribute, please send your comments to by 21 November 2014. 

Further information

An advertisement for the post will appear in the Times Higher Education on 30 October 2014 with a closing date of 5 January 2015. The advertisement will also be placed in the Chronicle for Higher Education and the Economist. Further details, including information about how to apply, will be available on the University website once the consultation period has closed.

The Committee’s members are the Chancellor (Lord Patten of Barnes) (chair); Ms Jayne Almond; Mr Nicholas Bamforth; Professor Alastair Buchan; Professor Eric Clarke; Professor Alex Halliday; Professor Paul Madden; Sir Jonathan Phillips; Professor Bill Roscoe; Professor Julian Savulescu; Professor Sir John Vickers; Rev’d Dr Ralph Waller; Professor Sarah Whatmore; and Professor Ngaire Woods. The Senior Proctor is in attendance and the Committee is supported by the Deputy University Secretary (Emma Rampton).