Oxford scientists elected as Fellows of the Royal Society | University of Oxford

Oxford scientists elected as Fellows of the Royal Society

Six of Oxford scientists have become Fellows of the Royal Society for their exceptional contributions to science.

  • Neil Brockdorff FRS, Wellcome Trust Principal Research Fellow, Department of Biochemistry
  • Vincenzo Cerundolo FMedSci FRS, Director, MRC Human Immunology Unit, Weatherall Institute of Molecular Medicine
  • Andrew King FMedSci FRS, Wellcome Trust Principal Research Fellow and Professor of Neurophysiology, Department of Physiology, Anatomy and Genetics
  • Dominic Kwiatkowski FMedSci FRS, Head of Parasites and Microbes Programme, Wellcome Sanger Institute and Professor of Genomics and Global Health
  • Graham Richards CBE FRS, Chairman and Founder, Oxford Drug Design Ltd and Professor, Department of Chemistry
  • Guy Wilkinson FRS, Professor of Physics, Department of Physics

Venki Ramakrishnan, President of the Royal Society, says: 'Our Fellows are key to the Royal Society’s fundamental purpose of using science for the benefit of humanity… this year’s newly elected Fellows and Foreign Members of the Royal Society are testament that science is a global endeavour and excellent ideas transcend borders.

'We also recognise the cutting edge innovation taking place across industry, with many of this year’s Fellows coming from the thriving tech industry. For their outstanding contributions to research and innovation, both now and in the future, it gives me great pleasure to welcome the world’s best scientists into the ranks of the Royal Society.'

The 50 New Fellows have been elected from across the UK and Commonwealth, including Auckland, Melbourne, Newcastle, Surrey and Toronto.