14 november 2007

Oxford University Teaching Awards 2007

Teaching Awards recipients
Some of the winners of the 2007 Teaching Awards

Ninety-eight Oxford University professors, lecturers, and university staff have been recognised for their excellent work in teaching through the Teaching Awards Scheme, presented by the University’s Learning Institute.

Oxford University’s Teaching Awards, established last year, recognise and reward excellence in college and university teaching, with a financial award for successful individuals or teaching teams. The Learning Institute has selected 98 award winners, of whom 27 are women.
Many of the individual awards have been presented following encouraging statements from undergraduates and graduates. Dr Ros Ballaster, Tutor in English at Mansfield College, was singled out by her students for the time, care, and attention that she devotes to them and to their work.

Dr David Shotton has been awarded for single-handedly developing and running the Department of Zoology’s world-class MSc Course in Biology (Integrative Bioscience).

Dr Steve Biller at the Department of Physics has been recognised for his efforts in widening participation and enthusiasm for physics among schoolchildren of all age groups.

Two team awards have been presented to the Mathematical Institute, and Jesus College Tutorial Office. The Mathematical finance team’s efforts in establishing the part-time MSc course in Mathematical Finance have been rewarded, as have the Jesus College Tutorial Office’s efforts in supporting the college’s academic environment and helping to ensure the effective recruitment of the best students, regardless of background.

Stephen Goss, Acting Director of the Oxford Learning Institute, said: ‘The awards are a testament to the quality, inventiveness, and high standards of Oxford’s teachers, the crucial importance of good support for students and the hard work of all those who teach and support learning across the collegiate university- whether in tutorials, lectures, classes, laboratories or field-work, or in the development of new courses or the supervision of postgraduates undertaking research.’

The modest award may be used to recognise past teaching excellence or to support future teaching excellence through a teaching or course development project.

The awards were presented at a ceremony at Rhodes House, South Parks Road, on Tuesday 13 November. The Pro-Vice Chancellor for Education Professor Elizabeth Fallaize, and Director of the Oxford Learning Institute, Dr Stephen Goss, delivered a welcome speech.