• Thursday 26 March 2015
  • NO. 5092
  • VOL. 145

Congregation28 April

¶ Members of Congregation are reminded that any two members may, not later than noon on 20 April, give notice in writing to the Registrar that they intend to oppose or amend any of the resolutions below (see the note on the conduct of business in Congregation below). If no such notice has been given, and unless Council has declared otherwise or the meeting has been adjourned, each resolution shall be carried and the meeting may be cancelled.

Voting on Resolutions approving the conferment of Honorary Degrees

(i) That the conferment of the Degree of Master of Arts, honoris causa, upon Valerie Boasten be approved.

(ii) That the conferment of the Degree of Master of Arts, honoris causa, upon Charles John Vaisey Jones be approved.

(iii) That the conferment of the Degree of Master of Arts, honoris causa, upon Alison Miles be approved.

¶ Valerie Boasten began working for the University in 1983, firstly at the Dunn School and then for the E P Abraham Trust, a trust fund linked to the school. She retired from the trust in 2013 having given 30 years to the University’s scientific administration. She is also the University's first-ever female Bedel, having been appointed Bedel of Arts in 1998 and then becoming the University's Senior Bedel, Bedel of Divinity, in 2003. She retires as Bedel of Divinity in September 2015.

Charles Jones, who retires in May 2015 after nearly 49 years' service, is the Mechanical Engineering Technician and Student Workshop Supervisor in the Department of Chemistry. He has made a significant contribution to both research and teaching through the provision of design and fabrication services for a wide range of high-specification bespoke instrumentation and the development and delivery of a course which forms part of the Skills Training Programme offered to graduate students and postdoctoral students.

Alison Miles served initially as secretary to two Masters of Balliol (Professor Baruch Blumberg and Sir Colin Lucas), and then as Sir Colin's secretary when he became Vice-Chancellor in 1997. Since then, she has been responsible for the University's ceremonial life in all its many aspects: Encaenia, together with its associated events and duties; other honorary degree ceremonies; visits by members of the Royal Family and international dignitaries; and a wide range of interactions with other institutions. She will retire from her current role as the Chancellor's executive assistant, which she has held since 2004, in September 2015.

¶ If the resolutions are approved, the degrees will be conferred at degree ceremonies on dates to be confirmed.

Congregation11 June



Committees reporting to Council  

Audit and Scrutiny Committee   

Buildings and Estates Subcommittee   

Continuing Education Board   

Curators of the University Libraries

Other Committees and University Bodies  

Visitors of the Ashmolean Museum   

Visitors of the Botanic Garden   

Delegacy for Nomination of Candidates for Ecclesiastical Benefices   

Delegacy for Military Instruction   

Committee for the Ruskin School of Art   

Nominating Committee for the Vice-Chancellorship

Visitatorial Board Panel

Divisional Boards

Humanities Board

Mathematical, Physical and Life Sciences Board

Faculty Boards

Board of the Faculty of Classics

Board of the Faculty of English Language and Literature

Board of the Faculty of History

Board of the Faculty of Linguistics, Philology and Phonetics

Board of the Faculty of Music

Board of the Faculty of Philosophy

Board of the Faculty of Theology and Religion

Details are in 'Elections' section below.

Convocation19 June


Professor of Poetry

Details are in 'Elections' section below.

Note on procedures in Congregation

¶ Business in Congregation is conducted in accordance with Congregation Regulations 2 of 2002 ( A printout of these regulations, or of any statute or other regulations, is available from the Council Secretariat on request. A member of Congregation seeking advice on questions relating to its procedures, other than elections, should contact Mrs F Burchett at the University Offices, Wellington Square (telephone: (2)80199; email:; questions relating to elections should be directed to the Elections Officer, Ms S L S Mulvihill (telephone: (2)80463; email: