• Thursday 22 May 2014
  • NO. 5061
  • VOL. 144

Congregation26 May

This is restricted content: see Congregation: 26 May (login is required).

Congregation12 June



Committees reporting to Council

Buildings and Estates Subcommittee

Continuing Education Board

Nominations Committee

Socially Responsible Investment Review Committee

Other Committees and University Bodies

Visitors of the Ashmolean Museum

Curators of the University Parks

Committee for the Ruskin School of Art

Visitatorial Board Panel

Divisional Boards

Humanities Board

Mathematical, Physical and Life Sciences Board

Social Sciences Board

Faculty Boards

Board of the Faculty of Classics

Board of the Faculty of English Language and Literature

Board of the Faculty of History

Board of the Faculty of Law

Board of the Faculty of Linguistics, Philology and Phonetics

Board of the Faculty of Oriental Studies

Board of the Faculty of Philosophy

Board of the Faculty of Theology and Religion

Details are in 'Elections' section below.

Congregation 25 June

(1) Encaenia

Mr Vice-Chancellor invites Pro-Vice-Chancellors, Heads of House, Heads of Division, holders of the Oxford Degrees of Doctor of Divinity, Civil Law, Medicine, Letters, Science, and Music, the Proctors, the Assessor, the Public Orator, the Registrar, the outgoing President of the Oxford University Student Union, and the Presidents of the Junior and Middle Common Rooms of Merton, Linacre and Wadham (as being the colleges of the Proctors and the Assessor) to partake of Lord Crewe's Benefaction to the University, meeting him in the Fellows' Garden of Exeter College at 10.30am on Wednesday, 25 June. Thence they will go in procession to the Sheldonian Theatre, where will be spoken the Oration in Commemoration of the Benefactors of the University according to the intention of the Right Honourable Nathaniel, Lord Crewe, Bishop of Durham.

Note. Pro-Vice-Chancellors, Heads of House, Heads of Division, and Doctors who propose to accept Mr Vice-Chancellor's invitation, and to be present in the Sheldonian Theatre, are requested to inform the Events Office at the University Offices, Wellington Square by email ( or telephone (Oxford 280524) no later than Wednesday, 11 June. They are reminded that, while academic dress of other universities may (if desired) be worn at the Encaenia Garden Party, the appropriate Oxford academic dress should always be worn at the partaking of Lord Crewe's Benefaction and at the Encaenia ceremony.

(2) Honorary Degrees

Doctor of Divinity

The Most Reverend Dr Katharine Jefferts Schori, PhD, Presiding Bishop and Primate of the Episcopal Church in the United States of America and sixteen other nations

Doctor of Letters

Sir Anish Kapoor, CBE, RA, artist and sculptor, Turner Prizewinner, Honorary Fellow of the Royal Institute of British Architects

Mr Robert Silvers, BA Chicago, editor and co-founder of the New York Review of Books, Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, Honorary Fellow of the British Academy

Doctor of Science

Professor Wallace Broecker, PhD, Newberry Professor of Geology, Columbia University, Crafoord Prizewinner, Balzan Prizewinner, Member of the National Academy of Sciences of the USA, Foreign Member of the Royal Society

Professor Jean-Marie Lehn, PhD, Honorary Professor of Chemistry, Collège de France, Emeritus Professor, University of Strasbourg, Nobel Prizewinner in Chemistry, Honorary Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry, member of the Académie des Sciences, Foreign Associate of the National Academy of Sciences of the USA

Doctor of Music

Sir Harrison Birtwistle, CH, RAM (Hon FRAM), composer, Visiting Professor at the Royal Academy of Music

Note on procedures in Congregation

¶ Business in Congregation is conducted in accordance with Congregation Regulations 2 of 2002 ( A printout of these regulations, or of any statute or other regulations, is available from the Council Secretariat on request. A member of Congregation seeking advice on questions relating to its procedures, other than elections, should contact Mrs F Burchett at the University Offices, Wellington Square (telephone: (2)80199; email:; questions relating to elections should be directed to the Elections Officer, Ms S L S Mulvihill (telephone: (2)80463; email: