Council and Main Committees

  • Thursday 4 October 2012
  • NO. 5000
  • VOL. 143

Congregation1 October

This is restricted content: see Congregation: 1 October (login is required).

Congregation2 October

(1) Oration by the Vice-Chancellor

Mr Vice-Chancellor addressed the House.

¶The text of the Oration will be published as a supplement with Gazette No 5001.

(2) Admission of Pro-Vice-Chancellors

The following persons were nominated by the Vice-Chancellor to be his deputies for the year 2012–13 and were admitted to office:

Dr S J Goss, MA DPhil Oxf, Fellow of Wadham

Professor W S James, BSc Birm, MA DPhil Oxf, Fellow of Brasenose

Dr S Mapstone, MA DPhil Oxf, Fellow of St Hilda's

Professor J N P Rawlins, MA DPhil Oxf, Fellow of Wolfson

Professor I A Walmsley, BSc Lond, PhD Rochester, Fellow of St Hugh's

Professor R W Ainsworth, MA DPhil Oxf, Master of St Catherine's

Frances Cairncross, MA Brown, MA Oxf, Rector of Exeter

Professor R J Carwardine, MA DPhil Oxf, President of Corpus Christi

Dr F Lannon, MA DPhil Oxf, Principal of Lady Margaret Hall

The Very Revd C A Lewis, MA DPhil Oxf, PhD Camb, Dean of Christ Church

Professor P Madden, MA Oxf, DPhil Sus, Provost of Queen's

The Revd R Waller, BD PhD Lond, MTh Nott, MA Oxf, Principal of Harris Manchester

(3) Admission of Clerks of the Market

J Hackney, BCL MA Oxf, Emeritus Fellow of St Edmund Hall and Wadham, nominated by the Chancellor, and R C S Walker, BA McGill, MA DPhil Oxf, Fellow of Magdalen, nominated by the Vice-Chancellor, were admitted to office as Clerks of the Market for the year 2012–13.

Council of the University

Register of Congregation

Mr Vice-Chancellor reports that the following names have been added to the Register of Congregation:

Aboobaker, A, Lady Margaret Hall

Agawu, V K, Balliol

Alcock, A, Faculty of Clinical Medicine

Bader, R M, Merton

Bell, B D, Lady Margaret Hall

Berenbeim, J L, Magdalen

Bone, Professor Sir Drummond, Balliol

Bray, J M, St John's

Cantillon, A R J, Wadham

Crabtree, M J, Department of Cardiovascular Medicine

Daenke, S, Structural Biology

Edwards, G C, Balliol

Farmer, J D, Faculty of Mathematics

Gardner, A M, Queen's

Gerstle, G, Queen's

Ghobrial, J-P A, Balliol

Gollin, D, St Antony's

Grandi, P A M, Oxford University Computing Services

Hall, J L, Worcester

Herbert, R G, Jesus

Kenny, N F, All Souls

Littman, D R, Lincoln

Lorenczik, C, Lincoln

Murnane, B, St John's

Ovenden, J A, Harris Manchester

Rauch, F, Brasenose

Roth, J J, Research Services

Sarro, R, St Antony's

Scholar, J M T, Magdalen

Shebbeare, T A, Green Templeton

Smith, S A, All Souls

Sternberg, G, Hertford

te Velthuis, A J W, Lincoln

Trinh, P H-P, Lincoln

Valladares, S, Worcester

Vuoskoski, J K, Faculty of Music

Walters, R G, Clinical Trial Service Unit and Epidemiological Studies Unit

Ward, G J, Christ Church

Zhuang, Y, Merton

Divisional and Faculty Boards

For changes in regulations for examinations see 'Examinations and Boards' below.