• Thursday 29 November 2012
  • NO. 5008
  • VOL. 143

Consultative notices

Consultation on the draft University Strategic Plan

The University’s current Strategic Plan runs from 2008/9 to 2012/13. Council therefore established a steering group in Hilary term 2012, chaired by the Pro-Vice-Chancellor for Education, charged with the development of the Plan for the period 2013/14–2017/18. The group includes members from the Council, the divisions and the colleges (see below) and was supported by separate groups considering in more depth the areas of research, education and widening engagement.

On 5 November 2012, Council approved the draft of the University Strategic Plan, contained in a supplement to this issue of the Gazette, as a document for wide consultation across the University during Hilary term 2013. Submissions on the draft plan are now invited from all bodies within the collegiate University as well as from individuals. Responses should be sent to by the end of ninth week of Hilary term. Responses will be posted online at, unless permission is withheld. An electronic version of the draft Strategic Plan will also be posted on this site.

A Discussion on the topic of The University's Draft Strategic Plan (2013/14–2017/18) will take place at the Congregation meeting on 19 February (week 6); further details about the arrangements will be published in the Gazette early in Hilary term.

Following this consultation, the draft Strategic Plan will be amended in the light of comments received and presented to Council and Congregation for approval by the end of Trinity term 2013.

Membership of the Strategic Plan Overarching Group

  • Dr Sally Mapstone, Pro-Vice-Chancellor, Education (Chair of the Group)
  • Professor Nick Rawlins, Pro-Vice-Chancellor, Development and External Affairs
  • Professor William James, Pro-Vice-Chancellor, Planning and Resources
  • Professor Ian Walmsley, Pro-Vice-Chancellor, Research, Academic Services and University Collections
  • Dr Stephen Goss, Pro-Vice-Chancellor, Personnel and Equality
  • Professor Shearer West, Head, Humanities Division
  • Professor Roger Goodman, Head, Social Sciences Division
  • Professor Alex Halliday, Head, Mathematical, Physical and Life Sciences Division
  • Professor Alastair Buchan, Head, Medical Sciences Division
  • Professor Jonathan Michie, Director, Department for Continuing Education
  • Dr Emma Smith, Council member elected by Congregation
  • Ms Alice Perkins, external Council member
  • Mr Tim Gardam, Chairman, Conference of Colleges, and Council member
  • Professor Paul Madden, Deputy Chairman, Conference of Colleges, and Council member
  • Senior Proctor
  • Junior Proctor
  • Assessor
  • Ms Martha Mackenzie (January–July 2012), Student Representative (OUSU)
  • Mr David Townsend (August 2012 to present), Student Representative (OUSU)
  • Professor Ewan McKendrick, Registrar

General notices

Gazette publication arrangements

The final Gazette of Michaelmas term will be published on 6 December. Publication for Hilary term will begin on 10 January. The usual deadline arrangements will apply.