• Thursday 21 March 2013
  • NO. 5020
  • VOL. 143

Consultative notices

Proposals for Honorary Degrees to be conferred at the Encaenia in 2014, and for Degrees by Diploma

Members of Congregation are encouraged to suggest the names of people on whom such degrees might be conferred. Degrees by diploma are conferred on heads of state and royalty, and Encaenia honorary degrees are conferred at the University's annual ceremonial event. When considering possible honorands, the Honorary Degrees Committee will focus on individuals in the following categories:

1 those of high academic distinction in the fields of research and scholarship of specific interest to the University of Oxford

2 those distinguished in the visual, literary, musical and performing arts

3 those distinguished in business and industry

4 those who have played a distinguished role in public life, for example in contributing to progress and change in society

5 those who have made a significant contribution to the activities of the University of Oxford – such individuals would normally also fall into one of the categories above.

Within those categories, the committee will aim to produce a balanced list, which takes account of the international dimension that characterises this University's activities. The committee therefore encourages the nomination of individuals of conspicuous distinction who represent the diversity of human achievement, with particular reference to gender, ethnicity, and discipline.

Honorary degrees will not be conferred on anyone who holds, or who has retired from, a resident teaching, research or administrative post within the University or in any college or other society, except in exceptional circumstances such as distinguished service outside the terms of his or her paid service.

Nominations should be sent on the approved application form, which is available from the Secretary to the Honorary Degrees Committee (tel: (2)80199, email: or can be downloaded by staff accessing the University website from the Oxford University Network ( The completed form should be sent to Mrs F Burchett, University Offices, Wellington Square, or by email to by 26 April, under 'Strictly Confidential' cover.

While informal soundings within the University will often be desirable, every effort should be made to ensure that publicity is not at any stage given to any specific proposal for the conferral of an honorary degree. All nominations will be considered in strict confidence by the Honorary Degrees Committee, which submits its report to Council at the beginning of Michaelmas term. After discussion, Council will report back to the Honorary Degrees Committee, which will arrive at a list of honorands to put to Congregation.

The names of people on whom degrees by diploma and honorary degrees have recently been conferred may be found in the University Calendar, 2012–13, pp551–5.

This year's honorands are:

Professor Ingrid Daubechies
Professor Anthony Grafton
Baroness Tanni Grey-Thompson
Former Chief Justice Andrew Li Kwok-Nang
Dame Anne Owers
Mr Murray Perahia
Mr Colin Smith
Sir Tom Stoppard

Committee on Statutes before the Privy Council

Merton College: Revised Statutes

The Committee on Statutes before the Privy Council, acting under authority delegated to it by Council, is minded to give consent on behalf of the University to the revised statutes of Merton College, approved by the Governing Body on 9 January 2013 and 18 March 2013, in so far as such consent is required by section 7 (2) of the Universities of Oxford and Cambridge Act, 1923. The consent of the committee to the amendments to the statutes will be effective eleven days after publication of this notice unless written notice of a resolution and signed by at least 20 members of Congregation, calling upon Council to withhold that consent, has been given to the Registrar by noon on 1 April.

The revisions comprise the addition of an objectives clause and the addition of a provision to give the College the power to account for total return.

General notices

Gazette publication arrangements

This is the final Gazette of Hilary term and is limited to Council and Congregation business and changes to Examination Regulations. Publication for Trinity term will begin on 18 April. The usual deadline arrangements will apply.