Colleges, Halls and Societies

  • Thursday 18 April 2013
  • NO. 5021
  • VOL. 143



Professorial Fellowship

David Rueda, MA PhD Cornell, MSc Lond

Honorary Fellowship

Mark Carney, AB Harvard, MPhil DPhil Oxf

Senior Research Fellowship

David Stuckler, BS Texas at Arlington, MPH Yale, PhD Camb

Postdoctoral Prize Research Fellowships

Javier Garcia-Manglano, BA Econ BA Soc Navarre, MSc LSE, MA Maryland  
Anna Ross, BA MTeach Sydney, MPhil Camb
Henning Tamm, BA Tübingen, MPhil Oxf
Erik Vickstrom, BA Wesleyan, MA Princeton [declined]

Non-stipendiary Research Fellowships

Mathilde Almlund, BSc MSc Chicago
Sam Asher, BA Yale
Liang Chen, BS Huazhong University of Science and Technology, MA Carlos III, Madrid
Ying-Ying Lee, BS MBA National Taiwan University, MSc Wisconsin
John Levy, BSc MSc Hebrew
Selma Telalagic, BA MPhil Camb
André F Veiga, AB Princeton
Ansgar Walther, BA Oxf, MPhil Camb
Cheng Wan, BS Fudan, PhD Paris VI

Associate Memberships

Patrick Diamond, BA MPhil Camb
The Revd Canon Edmund Newell, BSc Lond, DPhil Oxf
Martin Seeleib-Kaiser, MA PhD Ludwig Maximilians, habil Bremen
Daniel Stegmueller, MA Mannheim, PhD Radboud
David Sylvan, BA Williams, MA MPhil PhD Yale 



Moira Wallace, OBE, has been formally elected as the next Provost of Oriel. She takes up the post in September 2013.

Memorial Services

Campion Hall/St Benet's Hall

There will be a memorial Mass for Dr Bernard Green, OSB, sometime Fellow of St Benet's Hall and Senior Member of Campion Hall, at 4pm on Saturday, 25 May, at Blackfriars. All are welcome to attend.

Dr Green died suddenly of a massive heart attack during the night of 21 March. His funeral was held at Ampleforth Abbey on 4 April.


A memorial service will be held for Bishop Kenneth Cragg, Honorary Fellow of Jesus 1999–2012, at 2.30pm on Saturday, 18 May in Jesus chapel. Tea will be served after the service. Seating in the chapel is limited so please arrive early to ensure a seat in the chapel itself.


Christ Church

Dr Geoffrey Barraclough, OBE, 2 December 2012; 1946. Aged 88.

Arthur William Billington, 20 December 2012; 1956.

Edmund (Ted) Harry Cooke-Yarborough, FInstP, CEng, FIEE, FREng, 10 January 2013; 1937. Aged 94.

Professor Dennis James Greenland, FRS, FWA, 23 December 2012; 1948. Aged 82.

Philip Bodley Hunt, January 2013; 1935. Aged 96.

Clive Frederick Jeanes, OBE, January 2012; 1952. Aged 78.

Robin Matthew Joyce, 30 January 2013; 1991. Aged 39.

Peter Charles Mankin, FRSA, DMS, June 2012; 1972. Aged 58.

Geoffrey Edward Merrick, MC, 11 January 2013; 1946. Aged 91.

David Edward Mount, 12 February 1987; 1940.

Peter Harold Snagge, 22 December 2012; 1956.

John Whitaker, 2013; 1932. 

St Hilda's

Barbara Mary Goldsmid, 17 January 2013; 1949. Aged 82.

Katherine Lindsay-MacDougall, 28 February 2013; 1934. Aged 97.

St Hugh's

 Alison Hall (née Sheppard), 21 March 2013; 1981. Aged  50.