• Thursday 16 May 2013
  • NO. 5025
  • VOL. 143

General notices


Sheldonian Theatre

At the Encaenia to be held in the Sheldonian Theatre on 19 June, the Curators of the Theatre propose to allot seats as follows, and subject to availability, to those who apply for tickets:

(a) one visitor's ticket each to Heads of Houses, Canons of Christ Church, members of Council, and certain other persons holding official positions in the University;

(b) one visitor's ticket to each Professor;

(c) one ticket to each member of Convocation (ie any matriculated member of the University on whom any degree of the University has been conferred, or any member of Congregation who does not hold such a degree).

Applications for tickets in the above categories, stating the name and standing of each person for whom a ticket is requested, should be made no later than 5 June to the University Card Office, Examination Schools (email: For security reasons, all requests for tickets must state the names of the persons for whom the tickets are intended.

Tickets for all other members of the University (ie those who have not been admitted to any degree of the University) will be distributed through college authorities. All applications for tickets in this category should be made to the college authorities and not to the University Card Office.

The gates and entrances to the theatre will be opened at 10.45am and the proceedings will begin at 11.30am. Holders of tickets are requested to be in their places inside the theatre by 11.15am.

All current members of the University are required to wear subfusc and full Oxford academic dress. Doctors will wear their robes and other graduates their hoods.

Visiting Professorships

Mathematical, Physical and Life Sciences

George Eastman Visiting Professorship 2015–16    

Peter McCullagh, BSc Birm, PhD Lond, Professor, Department of Statistics, University of Chicago, has been appointed to the George Eastman Visiting Professorship 2015–16 in the Mathematical, Physical and Life Sciences Division for a fixed term of twelve months from 1 October 2015 to 30 September 2016.

Professor McCullagh will be a Professorial Fellow of Balliol.

Medical Sciences

The Medical Sciences Board has conferred the title of Visiting Professor of Clinical Safety Research on C Vincent for a further period of five years from 1 April. 

Electoral Boards

Revised composition of an Electoral Board

The revised composition of the electoral board to the post below, proceedings to fill which are currently in progress, is as follows:

Laing O'Rourke/RAEng Professorship of Automation in Construction        

  Appointed by
The Master of St Catherine's  Mr Vice-Chancellor1
Professor R Mair Council 
Professor M Chen  Council 
Professor J A Langdale  MPLS Divisional Board 
Dr P Cartwright MPLS Divisional Board 
Professor G Houlsby MPLS Divisional Board 
Professor P Newman MPLS Divisional Board 
Professor H Viles The Provost of Worcester
Professor A Blakeborough Worcester


1Appointed by Mr Vice-Chancellor under the provisions of Statute IX, Sect 10 and 11.