• Thursday 16 May 2013
  • NO. 5025
  • VOL. 143

Congregation20 May

This is restricted content: see Congregation: 20 May (login is required).

Congregation6 June



Committees reporting to Council

Audit and Scrutiny Committee

Curators of the University Libraries

Nominations Committee

Other Committees and University Bodies

Visitatorial Board Panel

Divisional Boards

Humanities Board

Mathematical, Physical and Life Sciences Board

Faculty Boards

Board of the Faculty of Classics

Board of the Faculty of English Language and Literature

Board of the Faculty of History

Board of the Faculty of Law

Board of the Faculty of Linguistics, Philology and Phonetics

Board of the Faculty of Music

Board of the Faculty of Oriental Studies

Board of the Faculty of Philosophy

Board of the Faculty of Theology and Religion

Details are in 'Elections' section below.

Congregation13 June


Nominating Committee for the Vice-Chancellorship

Details are in 'Elections' section below.

Congregation 19 June

(1) Encaenia

Mr Vice-Chancellor invites Pro-Vice-Chancellors, Heads of House, Heads of Division, holders of the Oxford Degrees of Doctor of Divinity, Civil Law, Medicine, Letters, Science, and Music, the Proctors, the Assessor, the Public Orator, the Professor of Poetry, the Registrar, the outgoing President of the Oxford University Student Union, and the Presidents of the Junior and Middle Common Rooms of Trinity, Green Templeton and Lady Margaret Hall (as being the colleges of the Proctors and the Assessor) to partake of Lord Crewe's Benefaction to the University, meeting him in the Fellows' Garden of Exeter College at 10.30am on Wednesday, 19 June. Thence they will go in procession to the Sheldonian Theatre, where will be spoken the Oration in Commemoration of the Benefactors of the University according to the intention of the Right Honourable Nathaniel, Lord Crewe, Bishop of Durham.

Note. Pro-Vice-Chancellors, Heads of House, Heads of Division, and Doctors who propose to accept Mr Vice-Chancellor's invitation, and to be present in the Sheldonian Theatre, are requested to inform the Events Office at the University Offices, Wellington Square by email ( or telephone (Oxford 280524) no later than Wednesday, 12 June. They are reminded that, while academic dress of other universities may (if desired) be worn at the Encaenia Garden Party, the appropriate Oxford academic dress should always be worn at the partaking of Lord Crewe's Benefaction and at the Encaenia ceremony.

(2) Honorary Degrees

Doctor of Civil Law

The Honourable Andrew Li Kwok Nang, GBM, CBE, MA LLM Camb, former Chief Justice of the Court of Final Appeal of Hong Kong, Honorary Professor of Law of the University of Hong Kong, Chinese University of Hong Kong, City University of Hong Kong

Dame Anne Owers, DBE, CBE, BA Camb, Chair of the Independent Police Complaints Commission, formerly Her Majesty's Chief Inspector of Prisons

Doctor of Letters

Professor Anthony Grafton, AB PhD Chicago, Henry Putnam University Professor, Princeton University, former President of the American Historical Association, Corresponding Fellow of the British Academy

Sir Tom Stoppard, OM, CBE, playwright, Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature

Doctor of Science

Professor Ingrid Daubechies, BS PhD Vrije Universiteit Brussel, Professor of Mathematics, Duke University, President of the International Mathematical Union, Chair of the Fields Medal Committee, member of the Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences

Baroness (Tanni) Grey-Thompson, DBE, DL, BA Lough, Paralympian

Mr Colin Smith, CBE, BSc S'ton, Director of Engineering and Technology, Rolls-Royce plc, Fellow of the Royal Academy of Engineering, the Royal Aeronautical Society and the Institution of Mechanical Engineers

Doctor of Music

Mr Murray Perahia, KBE, BMus Mannes College, pianist, Honorary Fellow of the Royal College of Music, Honorary Member of the Royal Academy of Music

Note on procedures in Congregation

¶ Business in Congregation is conducted in accordance with Congregation Regulations 2 of 2002 ( A printout of these regulations, or of any statute or other regulations, is available from the Council Secretariat on request. A member of Congregation seeking advice on questions relating to its procedures, other than elections, should contact Mrs F Burchett at the University Offices, Wellington Square (telephone: (2)80199; email:; questions relating to elections should be directed to the Elections Officer, Ms S L S Mulvihill (telephone: (2)80463; email: