• Thursday 13 June 2013
  • NO. 5029
  • VOL. 143

Congregation13 June


Contested election

Nominating Committee for the Vice-Chancellorship

Details are in 'Elections' section below.

Congregation 19 June

Encaenia: Honorary Degrees

Doctor of Civil Law

The Honourable Andrew Li Kwok Nang, GBM, CBE, MA LLM Camb, former Chief Justice of the Court of Final Appeal of Hong Kong, Honorary Professor of Law of the University of Hong Kong, Chinese University of Hong Kong, City University of Hong Kong

Dame Anne Owers, DBE, CBE, BA Camb, Chair of the Independent Police Complaints Commission, formerly Her Majesty's Chief Inspector of Prisons

Doctor of Letters

Professor Anthony Grafton, AB PhD Chicago, Henry Putnam University Professor, Princeton University, former President of the American Historical Association, Corresponding Fellow of the British Academy

Sir Tom Stoppard, OM, CBE, playwright, Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature

Doctor of Science

Professor Ingrid Daubechies, BS PhD Vrije Universiteit Brussel, Professor of Mathematics, Duke University, President of the International Mathematical Union, Chair of the Fields Medal Committee, member of the Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences

Baroness (Tanni) Grey-Thompson, DBE, DL, BA Lough, Paralympian

Mr Colin Smith, CBE, BSc S'ton, Director of Engineering and Technology, Rolls-Royce plc, Fellow of the Royal Academy of Engineering, the Royal Aeronautical Society and the Institution of Mechanical Engineers

Doctor of Music

Mr Murray Perahia, KBE, BMus Mannes College, pianist, Honorary Fellow of the Royal College of Music, Honorary Member of the Royal Academy of Music

Congregation25 June


¶ Members of Congregation are reminded that any two members may, not later than noon on 17 June, give notice in writing to the Registrar that they intend to oppose or amend the resolution below (see the note on the conduct of business in Congregation below). If no such notice has been given, and unless Council has declared otherwise or the meeting has been adjourned, the resolution shall be carried and the meeting may be cancelled.

Voting on Resolution authorising the use of space in the Dickson Poon Building for the University of Oxford China Centre at St Hugh's College

Explanatory Note

The University of Oxford China Centre was launched in May 2008. Its objective is to ensure that the University's commitment to the study of China is continually developed and expanded as the rising power of China sets new challenges and requires new areas of research. The centre joins together academics from across the whole University, but remains a virtual centre. The construction of a new building at St Hugh's College, some of the space in which the University proposes to lease, provides the opportunity to create a physical home for the China Centre in a purpose-built state of the art facility.

Text of Resolution

That approximately 733 sq m net usable area in the Dickson Poon Building for the University of Oxford China Centre at St Hugh's College be allocated to the University of Oxford China Centre. This allocation to take effect on a date in 2014 to coincide with the commencement of the University's lease on the space in question and to remain effective for the duration of that lease (25 years).

Note on procedures in Congregation

¶ Business in Congregation is conducted in accordance with Congregation Regulations 2 of 2002 ( A printout of these regulations, or of any statute or other regulations, is available from the Council Secretariat on request. A member of Congregation seeking advice on questions relating to its procedures, other than elections, should contact Mrs F Burchett at the University Offices, Wellington Square (telephone: (2)80199; email:; questions relating to elections should be directed to the Elections Officer, Ms S L S Mulvihill (telephone: (2)80463; email: