• Thursday 3 May 2012
  • NO. 4987
  • VOL. 142

General notices

Vice-Chancellor's Question Time

Professor Andrew Hamilton will be holding a Question Time session in the Ship Street Centre, Jesus, on 22 May. The event is open to members of Congregation, University and college staff, and students, who are invited to discuss issues with the Vice-Chancellor. The session starts at 4 pm, with refreshments available from 3.30 pm. To reserve a place or submit a question in advance, please email An audio recording will be available after the event at

Extra degree ceremony

A degree ceremony shall be held in the Sheldonian Theatre for the purpose of granting graces and conferring degrees at 11 am on Saturday, 16 November 2013. This is in addition to those already published for 2012 and 2013 (see

Van Houten Fund

The Van Houten Bequest is a fund left by the late M Van Houten in the 1950s to be used 'for the benefit of the University in such ways as the Chancellor, the Vice-Chancellor, and Council shall see fit'. The Chancellor, the Vice-Chancellor, Council and PRAC agreed in 2005 to delegate responsibility to the Registrar to approve grants subject to a regular report to be made to Council on the decisions taken.

Bids are now being invited for grants from this fund to be used to support projects that do not form part of the normal day-to-day operations of a department and which would not easily be funded from other regular sources. Examples of recent recipients include:

  • the UAS Conference 2011
  • the Vice-Chancellor's Civic Awards 2011
  • purchase of a grand piano for the Holywell Music Room.

Grants to internal applicants are usually in the region of £8,000–£20,000, either given as a one-off payment or spread over one to three years. Grants are also available to organisations external to the University; in such cases, the amounts awarded are usually lower and there is a cap on the total amount of funding provided to external organisations of £30,000 in this financial year.

The guidelines by which bids are assessed are as follows:

1) Bids for grants will be assessed according to the breadth of the benefit to the University offered by the project in question, the strategic importance of the project to the University and the availability of funds. Only in exceptional circumstances will a grant be awarded in respect of a project which benefits a single department.

2) Grants will not ordinarily be awarded for purposes for which other trust fund (or similar) support exists within the University; for example, the funding of academic scholarships, regardless of whether or not the alternative fund(s) in question are in a position to fund the expenditure proposed.

3) Grants will not ordinarily be awarded in respect of costs for which a department might reasonably be expected to hold a budget.

4) Grants will not ordinarily be agreed in respect of recurrent activities except to provide:

(a) seed funding to support an activity in its first one to three years; or

(b) bridging support for one year only where a source of funding is lost and the department/faculty in question is confident that an alternative can be found for the following year.

5) Grants will not ordinarily cover the full cost of a project. Departments will be expected to make some contribution, or to use the grant secured by the Van Houten Fund to assist in securing other funding (including external funding).

6) The extent to which funds may be awarded to external organisations each financial year shall be subject to an upper limit, to be set by the Planning and Resource Allocation Committee and reviewed on an annual basis.1

Bids for funding should take the form of a written submission outlining the amount requested, what the use of the grant would be, the benefit that would be conferred to the University, approximate costings, timescales, details of other funding secured and any other relevant information. The bids will be considered by the Registrar as a gathered field. Bids should be sent to the secretary of the fund, Mrs Adrienne Lingard, by 25 May.

The most recent invitation to bid, in December 2011, attracted 22 applications and resulted in support for two University projects, the online Science Portal and the Harcourt Arboretum Wildlife Hide, and two local organisations, KEEN (Kids Enjoy Exercise Now) and Jacari.

Further information may be obtained from Mrs Lingard: telephone Oxford (6)11627, email or at the University Offices, Wellington Square, Oxford, OX1 2JD. The next invitation to bid is scheduled to be sent out in October 2012.

1For the financial year 2011–12, GPC has approved a limit on total external funding of £30,000.


Alastair Buchan Professorship of International Relations

Dominic D P Johnson, BSc Derby, BA Open, DEA PhD Geneva, MSc DPhil Oxf, Reader in Politics and International Relations, Department of Politics and International Relations, Edinburgh, and 2012–2013 Senior Fellow, Centre of Theological Inquiry, Princeton, has been appointed to the Alastair Buchan Professorship of International Relations in the Department of Politics and International Relations with effect from 1 September 2012.

Dr Johnson will be a fellow of St Antony's.

Electoral Boards

Composition of an Electoral Board

The composition of the electoral board to the post below, proceedings to fill which are currently in progress, is as follows:

Action Research Professorship of Clinical Neurology 

  Appointed by
Professor N Rawlins Mr Vice-Chancellor1
The Principal of St Edmund Hall ex officio
Professor Sir John Bell Medical Sciences Division
Professor A Buchan Medical Sciences Division
Professor C Kennard Medical Sciences Division
Professor K Morrison Medical Sciences Division
Dr J Westbrook NHS Trust
Professor Dame Kay Davies Council
Professor N Scolding Council
Professor P Matthews St Edmund Hall
1Appointed by Mr Vice-Chancellor under the provisions of Statute IX, Sect. 10 and 11 (Supplement (1) to Gazette No. 4633, 9 October 2002, p. 108).

Musical Events

Saïd Business School Gallery

Sunday, 20 May, 3 pm: Painting and Music: The Laskaris String Quartet and Daniel Eltinger's Vigilia

Mendelssohn's String Quartet No 1, Op 12; Dvorák's String Quartet No 12, Op 96. Violins: Cara-Rose Laskaris, Cameron Millar; Viola: Zachary Slepian; Cello: James Donaldson.

Tickets: £8 / £5 (students and over 60s) from