• Thursday 17 May 2012
  • NO. 4989
  • VOL. 142

Congregation7 June


Contested elections


Nominations received


Other Committees reporting to Council

Continuing Education Board

Buildings and Estates Subcommittee

Other Committees and University Bodies

Committee for the Nomination of Select Preachers

Visitatorial Board Panel

Divisional Boards

Humanities Board

Mathematical, Physical and Life Sciences Board

Social Sciences Board

Faculty Boards

Board of the Faculty of English Language and Literature

Board of the Faculty of History

Board of the Faculty of Linguistics, Philology and Phonetics

Board of the Faculty of Oriental Studies

Board of the Faculty of Philosophy

Details are in 'Elections' section below.

Congregation20 June

(1) Encaenia

Mr Vice-Chancellor invites Pro-Vice-Chancellors, Heads of House, Heads of Division, holders of the Oxford Degrees of Doctor of Divinity, Civil Law, Medicine, Letters, Science, and Music, the Proctors, the Assessor, the Public Orator, the Registrar, the outgoing President of the Oxford University Student Union, and the Presidents of the Junior and Middle common rooms of St Peter's College, St Edmund Hall, and Exeter College (as being the colleges of the Proctors and the Assessor) to partake of Lord Crewe's Benefaction to the University, meeting him in the Fellows' Garden of Exeter College at 10.30 am on Wednesday, 20 June. Thence they will go in procession to the Sheldonian Theatre, where will be spoken the Oration in Commemoration of the Benefactors of the University according to the intention of the Right Honourable Nathaniel, Lord Crewe, Bishop of Durham.

Note. Pro-Vice-Chancellors, Heads of House, Heads of Division, and Doctors who propose to accept Mr Vice-Chancellor's invitation, and to be present in the Sheldonian Theatre, are requested to inform the Events Office at the University Offices, Wellington Square by email ( no later than Wednesday, 13 June. They are reminded that, while academic dress of other universities may (if desired) be worn at the Encaenia Garden Party, the appropriate Oxford academic dress should always be worn at the partaking of Lord Crewe's Benefaction and at the Encaenia ceremony.

(2) Honorary Degrees

Doctor of Civil Law

Baroness (Elizabeth Lydia) Manningham-Buller, DCB, MA Oxf, former Director General of the Security Service, Honorary Fellow of Lady Margaret Hall

Doctor of Letters

Mr David John Moore Cornwell (John le Carré), MA Oxf, author, Honorary Fellow of Lincoln

Professor Drew Gilpin Faust, AB Bryn Mawr, AM PhD Penn, historian, President and Lincoln Professor of History, Harvard, Member of the Society of American Historians, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and the American Philosophical Society

Sir Howard Stringer, MA Oxf, Chairman, Sony Corporation, Honorary Fellow of Merton

Professor Charles Margrave Taylor, BA McGill, MA DPhil Oxf (Rhodes Scholar), philosopher, Honorary Fellow of Balliol, Honorary Fellow of Blackfriars, Emeritus Professor, McGill, FBA, Foreign Honorary Member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, Companion of the Order of Canada, Grand Officer of the Ordre national du Québec

Doctor of Science

Dr Henry Joseph Macaulay Barnett, MD Toronto, Neurologist, former President and Scientific Director, Robarts Research Institute, Companion of the Order of Canada

Professor William Daniel Phillips, BS Juniata College, PhD MIT, physicist, Fellow of the National Institute of Standards and Technology, Member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and the National Academy of Sciences, Fellow of the Joint Quantum Institute

Note on procedures in Congregation

¶ Business in Congregation is conducted in accordance with Congregation Regulations 2 of 2002 ( A printout of these regulations, or of any statute or other regulations, is available from the Council Secretariat on request. A member of Congregation seeking advice on questions relating to its procedures, other than elections, should contact Mrs C Benton at the University Offices, Wellington Square (telephone: (2)80107; email:; questions relating to elections should be directed to the Elections Officer, Ms S L Stacey (telephone: (2)80463, email: