• Thursday 14 June 2012
  • NO. 4993
  • VOL. 142

Congregation20 June

Encaenia: Honorary Degrees

Doctor of Civil Law

Daw Aung San Suu Kyi, MA Oxf, Chairman of the National League for Democracy, Burma, member of the Burmese parliament, Honorary Fellow of St Antony's, Honorary Fellow of St Hugh's

Baroness (Elizabeth Lydia) Manningham-Buller, DCB, MA Oxf, former Director General of the Security Service, Honorary Fellow of Lady Margaret Hall

Doctor of Letters

Mr David John Moore Cornwell (John le Carré), MA Oxf, author, Honorary Fellow of Lincoln

Professor Drew Gilpin Faust, AB Bryn Mawr, AM PhD Penn, historian, President and Lincoln Professor of History, Harvard, Member of the Society of American Historians, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and the American Philosophical Society

Sir Howard Stringer, MA Oxf, Chairman, Sony Corporation, Honorary Fellow of Merton

Professor Charles Margrave Taylor, BA McGill, MA DPhil Oxf (Rhodes Scholar), philosopher, Honorary Fellow of Balliol, Honorary Fellow of Blackfriars, Emeritus Professor, McGill, FBA, Foreign Honorary Member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, Companion of the Order of Canada, Grand Officer of the Ordre national du Québec

Doctor of Science

Dr Henry Joseph Macaulay Barnett, MD Toronto, Neurologist, former President and Scientific Director, Robarts Research Institute, Companion of the Order of Canada

Professor William Daniel Phillips, BS Juniata College, PhD MIT, physicist, Fellow of the National Institute of Standards and Technology, Member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and the National Academy of Sciences, Fellow of the Joint Quantum Institute

Note on procedures in Congregation

¶ Business in Congregation is conducted in accordance with Congregation Regulations 2 of 2002 ( A printout of these regulations, or of any statute or other regulations, is available from the Council Secretariat on request. A member of Congregation seeking advice on questions relating to its procedures, other than elections, should contact Mrs C Benton at the University Offices, Wellington Square (telephone: (2)80107; email:; questions relating to elections should be directed to the Elections Officer, Ms S L Stacey (telephone: (2)80463, email: