• Thursday 4 November 2010
  • No. 4933
  • Vol 141

General notices

Index to the Gazette, 2009–10

An index to the Gazette, 2009–10 (Vol. 140), is now available, and a copy will be supplied to any member of the University, without charge, on application to the Gazette Office, University Offices, Wellington Square (email


Medical Sciences Divisional Board


University Lecturer

Colin Jon Akerman, MA Edin, MA MSc DPhil Oxf, Corange Fellow of Corpus Christi. In Neuropharmacology. From 1 October 2010 until the retiring age.

Visiting Professorships

Conferment and reconferment of the title of Visiting Professor

The Medical Sciences Board has conferred the title of Visiting Professor in Paediatrics on M. Gardiner, MA MD Camb, MB BChir, MRCP (UK), DCH; for a period of two years from 1 January 2011.

The Medical Sciences Board has reconferred the title of Visiting Professor of Translational Medicine on C. Bountra, BSc Lond, PhD Edin, Vice President and Head of Biology, GlaxoSmithKline Research and Development; for a period of five years from 1 February 2008.

Recognition of Distinction

The following title has been conferred on behalf of the Recognition of Distinction Committee:

Gray, L.J., BSc S'ton, PhD R'dg, Professorial Research Fellow in the Department of Physics, Professor of Climate Physics, with effect from 1 October 2010.

Electoral Boards

The composition of the electoral board to the post below, proceedings to fill which are currently in progress, is as follows:

EP Abraham Professorship of Mechanistic Cell Biology

  Appointed by
The Principal of Mansfield
Mr Vice-Chancellor1
The President of Trinity ex officio
Professor Frances Ashcroft Council
Dr Andrea Musacchio Council
Professor Ilan Davis Medical Sciences Board
Professor Gillian Griffiths Medical Sciences Board
Professor Kim Nasmyth Medical Sciences Board
Professor David Paterson Medical Sciences Board
Professor Louis Mahadevan Trinity

The revised composition of the electoral board to the post below, proceedings to fill which are currently in progress, is as follows:

Beit Professorship of the History of the British Commonwealth

  Appointed by
The Dean of Christ Church Mr Vice-Chancellor1
Dr Sudhir Hazareesingh Balliol
Dr S. Skinner Balliol
Professor P. O'Hanlon Council
Professor M. Vaughan Council
Professor S. Shuttleworth Humanities Division
Professor C. Wickham History Faculty
Professor J. Darwin History Faculty
Professor T. Hopkins History Faculty

1Appointed by Mr Vice-Chancellor under the provisions of Statute IX, Sect. 10 and 11 (Supplement (1) to Gazette No. 4633, 9 October 2002, p. 108).

Musical Events

Music Recitals at St Anne's

Held at at 6.15 p.m. on Fridays in the Mary Ogilvie Lecture Theatre at St Anne's. For further information, please contact Dr John Traill, Director of Music (

5 Nov.: Simon Desbruslais (Trumpet), Olivia Newbold (Piano) will give a recital of contemporary repertoire for trumpet and piano, to include Alan Vizzutti: Cascades, Enescu: Legend, Halsey Stevens: Trumpet Sonata.

19 Nov.:  Rupert Luck (Violin), Matthew Rickard (Piano) will perform Bliss: Sonata for Piano and Violin; Walton: Sonata for Violin and Piano.

26 Nov.: The Rivoli String Quartet will perform Haydn: String Quartet in E-flat major, op. 33/2, 'The Joke'; Bridge: String Quartet No. 2 in G minor.

St John's

The renowned Dutch organist Pieter van Dijk plays a varied programme of Bruhns, Schiedemann and Bach on the exciting Aubertin organ in St John's College Chapel.

Saturday, 6 November, 5.30 p.m. Free. For more information, or to reserve a ticket, please email