• Thursday 28 October 2010
  • No. 4932
  • Vol 141


Medical Sciences Division


University Lecturer

Ervin Fodor, MSc Bratislava, DPhil Oxf, Fellow of Linacre, University Lecturer in Virology, has been reappointed until the retiring age, with effect from 1 October 2010.

Visiting Professorships

Reconferment of the title of Visiting Professor

The Medical Sciences Board has conferred the title of Visiting Professor of Therapeutic Immunology on B. Hale, BA PhD Camb, currently Chief Executive Officer, BioAnaLab Limited; for a further period of five years from 1 June 2010.

Recognition of Distinction

Recognition of Distinction

The following titles have been conferred on behalf of the Recognition of Distinction Committee:

Fabre, Cécile Monique Yvonne, MA York, DPhil Oxf, Fellow of Lincoln, CUF Lecturer in Philosophy. Professor of Political Philosophy, with effect from 1 September 2010.

Hornblower, Simon, DPhil Oxf, FBA, Senior Research Fellow in Classical Studies, All Souls. Professor of Classics and Ancient History, with effect from 1 October 2010.

Electoral Boards

The composition of the electoral board to the post below, proceedings to fill which are currently in progress, is as follows:

Camden Professorship of Ancient History

  Appointed by 
Dr S. Mapstone  Mr Vice-Chancellor1
The Principal of Brasenose ex officio
Professor R. Parker Council
Professor A. Wallace-Hadrill Council
Professor S. Shuttleworth Humanities Division
Professor A. Cameron History Faculty
Professor S. Mitchell Ancient History Sub-faculty
Professor A. Wilson Classics Faculty
Dr E. Bispham Brasenose

1Appointed by Mr Vice-Chancellor under the provisions of Statute IX, Sect. 10 and 11 (Supplement (1) to Gazette No. 4633, 9 October 2002, p. 108).

Selection Committees

The composition of the selection committees to the posts below, proceedings to fill which are currently in progress, is as follows:

Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Education)

  Appointed by
Mr Vice-Chancellor   ex officio
The Dean of Christ Church Council
The Principal of Lady Margaret Hall   Council
The Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Development and External Affairs) Council
The Senior Proctor    Council
Professor A. Buchan    Council
Dr A. Etheridge   Council
Professor R. Goodman   Council
Dr F. Heal  Council

Headship of the Humanities Division

Appointed by
Mr Vice-Chancellor ex officio
Dr S. Mapstone   Council
The President of Magdalen Council
Professor S. Franklin Council
Professor C. Wickham Humanities Division
Professor H. Watanabe-O’Kelly Humanities Division
Professor C. Pelling    Humanities Division
Professor K. Brown Humanities Division


Musical Events

A special piano recital by Dame Mitsuko Uchida, DBE.

Tuesday, 11 January, 7 p.m., Sheldonian Theatre.

Beethoven: Piano Sonata No. 27 in E minor, Op 90; Schumann: Davidsbündlertänze Op  6; Chopin: Prelude in C# minor Op 45; Chopin: Sonata No. 3 in B minor Op 58.

Tickets available from Music at Oxford box office (telephone: Oxford 244806, website: or Oxford Playhouse box office (Oxford 305305, website:

Further information at