Council and Main Committees

  • Thursday 17 March 2011
  • NO. 4948
  • VOL. 141

Council of the University

Changes in Regulations

Council has made the following changes in regulations, to come into effect on 1 April.

The Holding of Outside Appointments and Conduct of Outside Work

Explanatory Note

The following changes (i) confirm that the approval line for the holding of outside appointments and conduct of outside work by senior officers is established by Council by standing order; (ii) clarify that the head of department's approval is required to hold directorships in spin-off companies and University subsidiaries; (iii) make reference to the University's Consulting Policy and Procedures; and (iv) narrow the requirement to seek the consent of the Conflict of Interest Committee only to the holding of executive directorships, not to the holding of non-executive directorships. Other minor changes have been made for clarification.

Text of Regulations

1. In Council Regulations 5 of 2004 (Supplement (1) to Gazette No. 4703, 14 July 2004, as amended on 22 July 2010, Gazette, Vol. 141, p. 130, 21 October 2010), delete existing regulation 1 and substitute (new text underlined, deleted text struck through):

'1. (1) All university employees, with the exception of CUF lecturers, shall obtain approval from their head of department (or equivalent), faculty board chairman, or head of division as appropriate for the holding of any outside appointment (including directorships on the boards of external organisations, spin-off companies and, for this purpose, University subsidiaries), and for undertaking other outside activities (including consultancies).

(2) If the head of department (or equivalent) has an interest in the appointment or activity under paragraph (1), the application for approval shall be made to the person at the next higher level of authority. In most cases this will be the head of division.

(3) Council shall establish the line of approval under paragraph (1) for senior officers of the University by standing order.'

2. Ibid., in regulation 3 insert new paragraph (6) below and renumber existing paragraphs (6) and (7) as (7) and (8):

'(6) the employee shall comply with the University’s Consulting Policy and Procedures;'.

3. Ibid., delete regulation 5 and substitute:

'5. No employee of the University shall hold any executive directorship without the express consent of the Committee on Conflict of Interest, as well as of his or her head of department (or equivalent) , faculty board chairman, or head of division as appropriate.'

Examination Regulations: Home/EU undergraduate fee from 2012/13

The amendment to the regulation for the Home/EU undergraduate fee from 2012/13 can be found below in Examinations and Boards.

Congregation10 March


For the result of the Curators of the Sheldonian Theatre election, please see 'Elections' section below.

Congregation16 March

1 Admission of Proctors (2011–12)

Mr Laurence Andrew Whitehead, MA Oxf, Fellow of Nuffield, and Professor Brian James Rogers, BSc PhD Brist, MA Oxf, Fellow of Pembroke, were presented to the Vice-Chancellor and admitted to office, the former as Senior Proctor and the latter as Junior Proctor for the ensuing year.

2 Admission of Assessor (2011–12)

Dr Teresa Jean Morgan, MA PhD Camb, MA Oxf, Fellow of Oriel, was presented to the Vice-Chancellor and admitted to office as Assessor for the ensuing year.

3 Admission of Pro-Proctors (2011–12)

The Senior Proctor nominated Dr Lucy Maria Carpenter, BSc Exe, MSc PhD Lond, MA Oxf, Fellow of Nuffield, and Mr Gwilym Frederick Hughes, MA Camb, MDA Cran, MA Oxf, Fellow of Nuffield, to be his Deputies.

The Junior Proctor nominated Mr Eamonn Mark Molloy, BA PhD Lanc, MA Oxf, Fellow of Pembroke, and The Revd Andrew Robert Francis Xavier Teal, BA PhD Birm, MA PGC Oxf, PGCE Oxf Brookes, Fellow of Pembroke, to be his Deputies.

The Deputies were presented to the Vice-Chancellor and admitted to office.

Council of the University

Register of Congregation

Mr Vice-Chancellor reports that the following names have been added to the Register of Congregation:

Darby, S. J., Mansfield

Hellner, K., Faculty of Clinical Medicine

Howe, M., ICT Support Team

Jankowiak, M., Wolfson

Kirschel, A. N. G., Department of Zoology

Roberts, R. G., Greyfriars