Council and Main Committees

  • Thursday 13 January 2011
  • No. 4939
  • Vol 141

Council of the University

Corrigendum: Regulations for Departments

When Council Regulations 3 of 2004, concerning the employment of University staff, were published (Supplement (1) to Gazette No. 4703, 14 July 2004), bringing together legislation governing employment-related matters, a cross-reference in the Regulations for Departments was not updated.

In Council Regulations 30 of 2002 concerning departments (Supplement (1) to Gazette No. 4629, 10 July 2002, p. 1451, as amended on 22 February 2007), delete regulation 1 and substitute (new text underlined, deleted text scored through):

'1. Each department recognised by a divisional board under section 11 of Statute VII shall have a head of department, whose appointment shall be in accordance with arrangements laid down by Council by regulation (see the Regulations for Academic and other Posts Employment of University Staff).'

General Purposes Committee of Council

Changes in Regulations

The General Purposes Committee of Council has made the following changes in regulations, to come into effect on 28 January.

Vaughan Morgan Prizes

Explanatory Note

These changes, approved by the board of management of the Violet Vaughan Morgan Fund, remove the requirement for a viva voce examination and allow the prize to be awarded for the best dissertation (under the English Faculty's new syllabus); and remove the requirement for the prize to be awarded only to someone who 'shows promise of becoming a loyal citizen of the British Commonwealth'.

Text of Regulations

In Part 2 of Council Regulations 25 of 2002, concerning trusts (Statutes, 2000, p. 737, as redesignated as regulations by Decree (5) of 11 July 2002,), delete existing § 359 and substitute (new text underlined, deleted text scored through):

'§ 359.  Vaughan Morgan Prizes
1. There shall be prizes in English Literature which shall be called 'The Violet Vaughan Morgan Prizes' in memory of Maud Violet Caroline Vaughan Morgan.
2.  The Board of the Faculty of English Language and Literature shall be the board of management of the prizes.
3. The prizes shall be open to members of the University, whether men or women, residing with the University on the date fixed for the examination.The prize shall be awarded for the best dissertation or dissertations, awarded the highest marks by the examiners for the Final Honours School in English Language and Literature in that academic year.
4. No person shall be eligible for a prize who, on the date of submission of the dissertation, will have exceeded nine terms from matriculation.
5.  Each prize-winner shall be presented with a bronze medal having on one side a profile of Maud Violet Caroline Vaughan Morgan and on the other side an engraved statement of the origin of the prizes.
6. All expenses incurred in connection with the award of the prizes, including the bronze medals, examiners' fees, and expenses of administration, shall be met from the income of the fund.
7. In awarding a prize, in addition to scholastic acquirements, the character of the candidates shall be taken into consideration so far as they can be judged from a viva voce examination and also from their records at college, and a prize shall not be awarded to anyone who, in the opinion of the examiners, does not show promise of becoming a loyal citizen of the British Commonwealth. The board of management shall, subject to the conditions specified in regulations 3, 4, and 5, and 7 above, make such regulations for the award and value of the prizes as it shall deem fit.
8. Surplus income arising from vacancies or from any other cause may at the discretion of the board of management either be invested in augmentation of the capital of the fund or be used for the award of a postgraduate studentship for the study of English Literature.
9. Council shall have power from time to time to alter this regulation, provided always that the prizes shall always bear the title of 'The Violet Vaughan Morgan Prizes' and that the conditions specified in clauses 5 and 7 regulation 5 above are adhered to.'

Congregation14 December

1 Declaration of approval of Resolutions authorising use of sites at the Old Road Campus

That the allocation of a site at the Old Road Campus for the construction of the Kennedy Institute and the allocation of a site at the Old Road Campus for the construction of a new building for the Nuffield Department of Medicine be approved.

2 Declaration of approval of Resolution approving the conferment of Honorary Degree

That the conferment of the Degree of Master of Arts, honoris causa, upon Lady Nancy Caroline Gayley Kenny, BA Vassar, PGCE Oxf, former Director of Alumni Relations at the University, former Secretary of the Oxford University Society, Fellow of St Peter's, be approved.

¶ The degree will be conferred at a ceremony on 5 March 2011.

Council of the University

Register of Congregation

Mr Vice-Chancellor reports that the following names have been added to the Register of Congregation:

Antoranz Contera, S., Green Templeton

Barber, N.G.H., Computing Services

Bathrellou, E., St John's

Bonilla, D., St Anne's

Bradley, C.P., Department of Physiology, Anatomy and Genetics

Bridgeland, T.A., All Souls

Burke, O., Faculty of Statistics

Collins, D.T., ICT Support Team

Covill, L.C., Wolfson

Cutler, N.A., Keble

Doughty, C.E., Oriel

Dunford, R.W., Faculty of Anthropology and Geography

Firth, R., St Anne's

Gerrard, D.M.G., St Peter's

Grassi Pucci da Filicaja, A.V., Faculty of Medieval and Modern Languages

Grenyer, R., Jesus

Haddad, A.D.M., Magdalen

Hill, G.W., Keble

Howe, V.C.G., Personnel Services

Hughes, J., Gray Institute for Radiation Oncology and Biology

Hutchinson, E.C., Worcester

Jones, M.C., Department of Physics

Layburn, S.J., St John's

Lewitt, S.M., Hertford

Lyngsoe, R.B., Faculty of Statistics

Mann, E.O.J., St Hugh's

Martin, C.J., St Catherine's

Massa, M.S., Faculty of Statistics

Mendelssohn, M.N., Mansfield

Mickan, S.M., Department of Primary Health Care

Mogensen, A.L., All Souls

Morrow, V.M., Department of International Development

Newbury, D.F., St John's

Pearson, S.J., University Estates Directorate

Rahimi, K., Clinical Trial Service Unit and Epidemiological Studies Unit

Rowland, M.J., Nuffield Department of Anaesthetics

Roynon, T.K., St Peter's

Sartbaeva, A., Linacre

Saunders, A.M., Nuffield

Scanlan, C.N., Corpus Christi

Sinai, N., Pembroke

Tobin, R.B., Oriel

Vella, D.J.R., Lincoln

Walker, B.H., New College

Watt, T.A., Merton

Wright, T.F., St Edmund Hall

Divisional and Faculty Boards

For changes in regulations for examinations see 'Examinations and Boards' below.