• Thursday 10 February 2011
  • No. 4943
  • Vol 141

Congregation10 March


Audit and Scrutiny Committee 

Vacancy: One

Current/retiring member
To hold office until
Mr L.A. Whitehead, Nuffield MT 2011

One member of Congregation elected by Congregation from among members of the faculties in the Divisions of Humanities and Social Sciences who shall not serve on Council or the Finance Committee or on any committee which in the view of Council has main line executive authority within the University, or hold any office in the University or any college which involves executive authority.

Further information on the Audit and Scrutiny Committee can be found at: www.admin.ox.ac.uk/statutes/regulations/520-122c.shtml. Enquiries may be directed to the Head of the Council Secretariat, Ms Emma Rampton, emma.rampton@admin.ox.ac.uk, tel. Oxford (2)70002.

Nomination received

The following nomination has been received:

Peter Mirfield, BCL MA Oxf, Fellow of Jesus, Faculty of Law

Nominated by:

G.I. Henderson, Pembroke, Faculty of Law

A.J. Ashworth, All Souls, Faculty of Law

S.C. Cooper, St Catherine's, Faculty of Physics

D.J. Womersley, St Catherine's, Faculty of English

C.G. Young, Magdalen

Curators of the Sheldonian Theatre

Vacancy: One

Current/retiring member
To hold office until
Dr P. Coones, Hertford MT 2011

One member of Congregation elected by Congregation.

For further information on the Board, please contact the Secretary, Ms. L Hofen, lisa.hofen@admin.ox.ac.uk, tel. Oxford (2)70129.

Nominations received

The following nominations have been received:

Chris Ballinger, MA MSc DPhil Oxf, Social Sciences Division

Nominated by:

F.A. Cairncross, Exeter

K.L. Blackmon, Merton, Faculty of Management

L.D. Cluver, Wolfson, Department of Social Policy and Social Work

N. Bowles, St Anne's, Faculty of Social Studies

S.J. Payne, MEng DPhil Oxf, Fellow of Keble, Faculty of Engineering Science

Nominated by:

M.A. Chappell, Faculty of Engineering Science

R.A. Saunders, Faculty of History

P.H. Taylor, Keble, Faculty of Engineering Science

S.R. Whalley, Keble, Faculty of Music

Humanities Divisional Board

Vacancy: One

Current/retiring member
To hold office until
Dr S.L. Mapstone, St Hilda's MT 2011

One member of Congregation elected by Congregation elected by and from among the members of the Faculty of English Language and Literature.

For further information regarding the board, please contact the Secretary (marie.drummond@humanities.ox.ac.uk).

Nomination received

The following nomination has been received:

Professor V. Gillespie, MA DPhil Oxf, Fellow of Lady Margaret Hall, Faculty of English

Nominated by:

J.D. Bradshaw, Worcester

C.D. Brewer, Hertford

H.D. Moore, Corpus Christi

J. Sloan, Harris Manchester

General notes:

Where it is specified in the above list that the nominee must be from among certain persons 'working in' a department or other institution, both the nominee and the nominators must be persons so working at the time of the election.

Nominations in writing for the election on 10 March, by four members of Congregation other than the candidate, will be received by the Elections Office, at the University Offices, Wellington Square, up to 4 p.m. on Thursday, 10 February 2011.

Council has decided that nominations should show for each signatory the name and college or department in block capitals. Any names which are not so shown may not be published.

At least one nomination in respect of each candidate must be made on an official nomination form.

Copies of the form are available from the 'Forms' section of the Elections Office website.

Candidates are invited to include with their nomination forms a written statement of no more than 250 words, setting out his or her reasons for standing and qualifications for the office being sought. In the event of contested election to the vacancies in question, these statements will be available online and published in the Gazette dated 24 February. Voters may wish to wait until they have read these notes before returning their ballot papers.

Ballot papers will be sent out to members of Congregation as soon as possible after the closing date for nominations. Completed ballot papers must be received by the Elections Office not later than 4 p.m. on 10 March 2011.

For further information about the committee or body concerned, please contact the individual Secretary, either via the email links above, or as listed in the University Calendar, 2010-11, or the Elections Officer, Ms S.L. Stacey (telephone: (2)80463, email: elections.office@ox.ac.uk).