University of Oxford

(i) Degree by Resolution and Register of Congregation notices are not published in the online Gazette -- please refer to the printed Gazette.
(ii) An asterisk against an entry in the Contents indicates a previously published notice.

Oxford University Gazette, 12 November 2009: University Acts


Changes in Regulations

Council has made the following changes in regulations, to come into effect on 27 November.

(a) Information Technology Research Committee

Explanatory Note

These changes delete the regulations for the Information Technology Research Committee, its work having been subsumed within the remit of the Research Committee.

Text of Regulations

In Council Regulations 15 of 2002 (Supplement (2) to Gazette No. 4628, 26 June 2002), delete regulations 3.63–3.68 concerning the Information Technology Research Committee and renumber existing 3.69–3.133 as 3.63–2.127.

(b) Committee for the Ruskin School of Drawing and Fine Art

Explanatory Note

The following changes amend the membership of the Committee for the Ruskin School of Drawing and Fine Art to include an additional external member appointed by the Humanities Division, who will take on the role of chairman of the committee for two years in the first instance. This appointment will help to encourage regular interface with broader divisional and University issues and aid in the establishment of a firm foundation of administrative practice on which to go forward.

Text of Regulations

In Part 9 of Council Regulations 2 of 2004, concerning the Committee for the Ruskin School of Drawing and Fine Art (Supplement (2) to Gazette No. 4702, 30 June 2004, pp. 18-19, as amended on 28 April 2005, Gazette Vol. 135, p. 882) delete existing 9.1 and substitute:

'9.1. There shall be a Committee for the Ruskin School of Drawing and Fine Art consisting of:

(1), (2) two persons appointed by the Humanities Board, one of whom shall chair the committee;

(3) the Ruskin Master of Drawing;

(4)–(7) four other persons holding teaching posts in the Ruskin School, who shall be elected by all those holding such posts except the Ruskin Master of Drawing under arrangements as per Council Regulation 19 of 2002, regulations 31–39.

(8) a person appointed by the Committee of Senior Tutors.'

^ Return to Contents of this section


Register of Congregation

Mr Vice-Chancellor reports that the following names have been added to the Register of Congregation:

Allen, R.G., St John's

Dutta, S., University

Fodor, E., Linacre

McGowan, V., Department of Plant Sciences

Ohly, A.F.R., Faculty of Law

Stirr, A.M., St John's

Zariphopoulou, T., Christ Church

^ Return to Contents of this section


For changes in regulations for examinations, to come into effect on 27 November, see 'Examinations and Boards' below.

^ Return to Contents of this section