University of Oxford Homepage

Supplement (4) to Oxford University Gazette No. 4855. Wednesday, 8 October 2008.

Scholarships and Prizes 2008: Philosophy

Conington Prize

The prize will be offered for a dissertation on a subject to be chosen by the writer and approved by the Board of the Faculty of Classics within the field of ancient history, religion, art and archaeology. The value of the prize will be about £1,000.

Applications for permission to offer an intended subject should be sent to the Secretary to the Classics Faculty Board, the Ioannou Centre for Classical and Byzantine Studies, 66 St Giles', Oxford OX1 3LU, no later than 21 November 2008. In case of doubt the Board will determine whether a subject falls within the above field.

The dissertation may take any form that the writer wishes: doctoral theses, other unpublished work, published monographs, and pre-publication proofs are all acceptable. Three typed copies of the dissertation must reach the Secretary to the Classics Faculty Board on or before 23 January 2009.

The prize is open to all members of the University who, on the day appointed for sending in the dissertations, are (i) qualified by examination for a degree of the University, (ii) have completed six years, and have not exceeded fifteen years, from their matriculation, except that graduates whose first degrees are from other universities shall have completed two years, and not exceeded eleven years, from their matriculation, and (iii) are of postdoctoral status, or equivalent.

The prize may not be awarded twice to the same person, but a previously unsuccessful competitor may resubmit his or her dissertation, or an amended version of it, on not more than two occasions.

The judges may determine not to award the prize in any year if no dissertation of sufficient merit is submitted.

The prize is offered annually in three fields in rotation. The cycle will continue as follows:

2010 Ancient philosophy and ideas.

2011 Classical literature, textual criticism, and philology.

2012 Ancient history, religion, art and archaeology.

Preceding page:
Oriental Studies:
Sarah J. Clackson Coptic Fund

Next page:
Duns Scotus Medieval Philosophy Prize

Search the supplement: