University of Oxford

(i) Notices of awards are not included in the online Gazette -- please refer to the printed Gazette.
(ii) An asterisk against an entry in the Contents indicates a previously published notice.

Oxford University Gazette, 13 March 2008: Notices


Review of Sport

The General Purposes Committee of Council has established a review of Sport in accordance with the University's standard practice of reviewing all departments, service units and other similar activities on a regular basis. It is ten years since the last review of this activity.

The members of the review committee are:

Professor Andrew Goudie, Master of St Cross (Chairman)

Lord Butler, Master of University College

Dr Lorraine Wild, St Hilda's

Tony Billington, St John's; Chairman of OU Lawn Tennis

Chris Earle, Director of Sport, University of Loughborough

The terms of reference of the review are:

1. To identify the role of sport in the collegiate University.

2. In the light of that role:

(a) to review: (i) the current provision for University Sport in the widest sense (i.e. to include the provision of facilities to benefit staff and students in terms of fitness, health and welfare more generally) and at all levels of participation; (ii) the decision-making structures which support it; (iii) adherence to formal University regulations where appropriate; and (iv) current and possible future ways of funding it (including external sponsorship);

(b) to consider relevant links between the University, the colleges, and the independent sports clubs;

(c) to consider the University's relationship with international, national and local sports organisations and other institutions as both users and providers of facilities and expertise; and

(d) to consider the access and outreach activities and opportunities associated with University Sport and to assess the benefits it brings to the wider community.

3. To make recommendations on any improvements the Panel considers are needed in the light of the review and to propose ways in which those improvements might be achieved.

The review committee would welcome comments on matters within this remit. Comments should be sent to the Secretary to the Review Committee, Stephen Howarth, Finance Division, 23–38 Hythe Bridge Street, Oxford OX1 2ET (e-mail:, by Friday, 25 April.

^ Return to Contents of this section


University Counselling Service

The University Counselling Service will be closed from Thursday, 20 March, to Friday, 28 March inclusive.

During the vacation the opening times are as follows:

Week 10: 9.30 a.m.–4 p.m., Monday–Wednesday.

Week –2 and week –1: 9.30 a.m.–4 p.m., Monday–Thursday, and 9.30 a.m.–1.30 p.m. on Friday.

From noughth week (Monday, 14 April) onwards the opening times will be the usual hours, 9.15 a.m.–5.15 p.m.

^ Return to Contents of this section


Recognition of Distinction

The Vice-Chancellor has conferred the following titles on behalf of the Recognition of Distinction Committee:

C. FUEST, DR.RER.POL Cologne, HABIL. Munich, DIPL. Mannheim, Research Director, Oxford University Centre for Business Taxation: Professor of Business Taxation, with effect from 1 October 2008.

V. NOCKE, PH.D Lond, DIPL. Bonn, Reader in Economics and Fellow of Jesus College: Professor of Industrial Economics, with effect from 4 February 2008.

^ Return to Contents of this section