University of Oxford

(i) Notices of awards are not included in the online Gazette -- please refer to the printed Gazette.
(ii) An asterisk against an entry in the Contents indicates a previously published notice.

Oxford University Gazette, 7 February 2008: Notices


Christ Church Cathedral

THE CHOIR OF CHRIST CHURCH CATHEDRAL, with THE LONDON MUSICI, will perform J.S. Bach's Passion According to St John at 7.30 p.m. on Wednesday, 19 March, in the Cathedral. Admission is free, with a retiring collection.

Evangelist: Christopher Watson. Christus: Simon Whiteley. Pilate: Will Dawes. Soprano: Susan Young. Continuo organ: Clive Driskill-Smith. Directed by Stephen Darlington.

^ Return to Contents of this section


Conferment and Reconferment of the Title of Visiting Professor

The Social Sciences Board, on the recommendation of the Department of International Development, has conferred the title of Visiting Professor upon PROFESSOR G. LOESCHER, BA St Mary's College of California, MA Monterey Institute of International Studies, PH.D Lond, from 1 January 2008 to 31 December 2010.

The Social Sciences Board, on the recommendation of the Saïd Business School, has reconferred the title of Visiting Professor of Accounting upon PROFESSOR DAVID COOPER, B.SC (ECON) Lond, PH.D Manc, from 24 April 2008 to 23 April 2010.

Recognition of Distinction

The Vice-Chancellor has conferred the following titles on behalf of the Recognition of Distinction Committee:

S.D. HOWISON, MA M.SC D.PHIL Oxf, University Lecturer in Applied Mathematics and Student of Christ Church: Professor of Applied Mathematics, with immediate effect.

SIR DAVID KING, B.SC PH.D Witwatersrand, SC.D Camb, SC.D East Ang, Director of the Smith School of Enterprise and the Environment: Professor of Enterprise and the Environment, with effect from 1 January 2008.

^ Return to Contents of this section


The composition of the electoral board to the post below, proceedings to fill which are currently in progress, is as follows:

Professorship of Physical Geography

                                 Appointed by
    The Principal of Linacre      Mr Vice-Chancellor [1]
    Professor R. Whittaker        Council
    Professor M. Hulme            Council
    Professor A.M. Pollard        Social Sciences Board
    Professor G.L. Clark          Social Sciences Board
    Professor D. Thomas           Social Sciences Board
    Professor G.M. MacDonald      Social Sciences Board
    Dr S. Watkinson               St Hilda's College
    Dr H. Viles                   St Hilda's College
[1] Appointed by Mr Vice-Chancellor under the provisions of Sects. 10 and 11 of Statute IX (Supplement (1) to Gazette No. 4633, 9 October 2002, Vol. 133, p. 108).

^ Return to Contents of this section