University of Oxford Homepage

Note. An asterisk against an entry in the Contents indicates a previously published notice.
University of Oxford Crest

Oxford University Gazette, 4 October 2007: University Acts


1 Oration by the Vice-Chancellor

Mr Vice-Chancellor addressed the House.

¶ The Oration has been published as Supplement (3) to Gazette No. 4818.

2 Admission of Pro-Vice-Chancellors

The following persons were nominated by the Vice-Chancellor to be his deputies for the year 2007–8 and were admitted to office:

DAME FIONA CALDICOTT, DBE, BM B.CH MA Oxf, Principal of Somerville College (Personnel and Equal Opportunities)

J. DELLANDREA, MA Oxf, M.ED ED.D Toronto, Fellow of Magdalen College (Development and External Affairs)

PROFESSOR E.A. FALLAIZE, MA PH.D Exe, MA Oxf, Fellow of St John's College (Education)

PROFESSOR E.G. MCKENDRICK, BCL MA Oxf, LL.B Edin, Fellow of Lady Margaret Hall (Research, Academic Services and University Collections)

PROFESSOR A. MONACO, AB Princeton, MD PH.D Harvard, Fellow of Merton College (Planning and Resources)

PROFESSOR R.W. AINSWORTH, MA D.PHIL Oxf, Master of St Catherine's College

SIR ALAN BUDD, B.SC Lond, MA D.PHIL Oxf, PH.D Camb, Provost of Queen's College

PROFESSOR DAME AVERIL CAMERON, DBE, MA Oxf, PH.D Lond, Warden of Keble College

A. DILNOT, CBE, MA Oxf, Principal of St Hugh's College


SIR MICHAEL SCHOLAR, KCB, MA PH.D Camb, MA D.PHIL Oxf, President of St John's College

PROFESSOR P.A. SLACK, MA D.PHIL Oxf, Principal of Linacre College

R.G. SMETHURST, MA Oxf, Provost of Worcester College

3 Admission of Clerks of the Market

PROFESSOR S.D. IVERSEN, MA PH.D Camb, MA D.PHIL Oxf, Fellow of Magdalen College, nominated by the Chancellor, and R.C.S. WALKER, BA McGill, MA D.PHIL Oxf, Fellow of Magdalen College, nominated by the Vice-Chancellor, were admitted to office as Clerks of the Market for the year 2007–8.

^ Return to Contents of this section


Register of Congregation

Mr Vice-Chancellor reports that the following names have been added to the Register of Congregation:

Akasoy, A.A., Faculty of Oriental Studies

Ashdown, M.J., Somerville

Blyth, M.N., Regent's Park

Bobou, O., Brasenose

Carruthers, M.J., All Souls

Chongchitnan, S., Lincoln

Clarke, A.J., Regent's Park

Collier, R.H., Balliol

de Graaf, N.D., Nuffield

Dellar, P.J., Corpus Christi

Dries, M., Wolfson

Drutu Badea, C., Exeter

Firnhaber-Baker, J.M., All Souls

Florence, M.J., Somerville

Foot, S.R.I., Christ Church

Hausel, T., Wadham

Howarth, M.R., Worcester

Johnston, H.L.A., St Hugh's

Kiaer, J., Hertford

Klevan, A., St Anne's

Kroening, D.H.F.E., Magdalen

Lewis, R., St Hugh's

Mahtani, A., New College

Mannherz, J.C., Oriel

McClymont, G., St Hugh's

Melcher, C., Lincoln

Moller, K., Lincoln

Nilges, Y., St Hugh's

Oxley, D.J., All Souls

Parkes, R.E., Wadham

Parodi, L.E., Faculty of Oriental Studies

Porter, M.A., Somerville

Prowse, V.L., Somerville

Rudolf, W., Lincoln

Schauer, F.F., Balliol

Simelidis, C., Lincoln

Spener, M.H., St Catherine's

Stier, P., Oriel

Towers, M.J., St Hugh's

Vakonakis, I., Trinity

Woods, G.M., Wadham

Wright, A.I., St John's

Xu, Z., St Hugh's

Ye, H., Linacre

^ Return to Contents of this section


For changes in regulations for examinations, to come into effect on 19 October, see 'Examinations and Boards' below.

^ Return to Contents of this section