University of Oxford Homepage

University of Oxford Crest

Oxford University Gazette, 19 October 2006:
Prizes, Grants, and Funding

Balliol College


The Dawkins Prize was endowed by a generous donation from the family of Professor Richard Dawkins, FRS, the University's Charles Simonyi Professor of the Public Understanding of Science. The prize is for outstanding research into the ecology and behaviour of animals whose welfare and survival may be endangered by human activities.

The first prizewinner (2001) was Dr Iain Douglas-Hamilton, and the second prizewinner (2004) was Professor David Macdonald.

The college now seeks nominations for the third Dawkins Prize.

The prizewinner will receive £2,000 and will be expected to give one public lecture in Oxford. The college also hopes that a Dawkins Prize Scholar will be chosen by the prizewinner, to enable a student to gain research experience by working with him or her. £2,000 will be available to the prizewinner for the scholarship and research expenses. In addition, the travel expenses of the prizewinner and scholar will be met, up to a total of £2,000.

Nominations should contain names, addresses and affiliations of nominator and nominee and a brief list of the key achievements and publications of the nominee. Nominations should be sent to the Vicegerent, Convener of the Dawkins Prize Committee, Balliol College, Oxford OX1 3BJ, by 10 December.