University of Oxford Homepage

Note. An asterisk against an entry in the Contents indicates a previously published notice.
University of Oxford Crest

Oxford University Gazette, 19 April 2007: Notices


Task Force on Academic Employment: Consultation on Proposed 'direction of travel'

Council has now approved for consultation a document prepared by its Task Force on Academic Employment outlining a broad 'direction of travel', based on the submissions it received last year. The document is published as a supplement with this Gazette.

Comments are invited from individuals and relevant university bodies, and may be made via the questionnaire printed in the supplement published with this Gazette, or (preferably) on-line at: 1. The consultation document and questionnaire may also be viewed and downloaded at: taff/academic/tfnews/.

The deadline for responses is Friday, 8 June, although earlier responses would be most welcome. The Task Force hopes that as many individuals and bodies as possible will take the time to respond to the questionnaire.

^ Return to Contents of this section


Central Bodleian Library: Opening on Day of Encaenia

The Central Bodleian Library is extending its opening hours to readers by opening on the day of Encaenia. On Encaenia in 2007 (Wednesday, 20 June) the New Bodleian Library will open as normal 9 a.m.–7 p.m., and the Old Bodleian Library and Radcliffe Camera will open 2–7 p.m. The Admissions Office and Shop will also open from 2 p.m. A full book service will be available.

Listing of Professors and Readers Emeritus in the University Calendar

The Editor of the University Calendar would be grateful to hear from current or retired members of Congregation concerning any omissions or errors in the listing of Professors and Readers Emeritus in the Calendar. Any omissions or errors will be corrected for the 2007–8 edition, now in preparation.

Under Council Regulations 3 of 2004, cll. 9 and 10 (, any person who has retired over the age of 60 from a professorship or readership, including a personal or titular professorship or readership, is entitled to hold the title of Professor Emeritus or Reader Emeritus, as appropriate.

The current listing of Professors and Readers Emeritus may be seen in the following ways: (i) in the University Calendar, 2006, pp. 165–173; (ii) at (includes also the proposed additions to the lists for the new edition); (iii) a copy will be sent to any current or retired member of Congregation who applies to the Gazette office, University Offices, Wellington Square, Oxford OX1 2JD (e-mail:

A table of some less common abbreviations used in the Calendar, which it is proposed to include in the new edition, can be found at the same site and may also be obtained on application to the Gazette. Comments on this from members of Congregation would also be welcome.

Christ Church

Andrew Chamblin Memorial Concert

The inaugural Andrew Chamblin Memorial Concert will take place at 7.30 p.m. on Thursday, 10 May, in Christ Church Cathedral, and will be given by the internationally renowned organist, Thomas Trotter. Mr Trotter will play a number of organ pieces by Mozart, Handel and Bach. Admission is free and everyone is welcome. Enquries should be directed to

^ Return to Contents of this section


Heather Professorship of Music

ERIC FILLENZ CLARKE, BA MA Sus, PH.D Exe, Professor of Music, Head of Music Department and Deputy Director of Research for the Arts and Humanities Division, University of Sheffield, has been appointed to the professorship with effect from 1 October 2007.

Professor Clarke will be a fellow of Wadham College.

Conferment of Title of Visiting Professor

The Medical Sciences Board has conferred the title of Visiting Professor in Computational Biology on D. BRAY, B.SC Lond, PH.D Massachusetts, for three years from 1 April 2007.

Recognition of Distinction

The Vice-Chancellor has conferred the following titles on behalf of the Recognition of Distinction Committee:

R.A. CROSS, MA D.PHIL Oxf, Fellow of Oriel: Professor of Medieval Theology, with effect from 1 April 2007

SIR TONY ATKINSON, MA Oxf, Fellow of Nuffield: Professor of Economics, with effect from 1 September 2007

I. DAVIS, D.PHIL Oxf, Senior Research Fellow in the Department of Biochemistry: Professor of Cell Biology, with effect from 1 July 2007

Nuffield Department of Anaesthetics

On the recommendation of the Medical Sciences Board, Council has assigned the Nuffield Department of Anaesthetics to H.J. MCQUAY, MD DM Oxf, Fellow of Balliol College and Nuffield Professor of Clinical Anaesthetics, for five years from 1 May 2007.

Division of Social Sciences: Heads of Departments

The Social Sciences Board has made the following appointments:

PROFESSOR I. LUNT as Acting Head of the Department of Education for Trinity Term 2007 (weeks 0–9 inclusive).

PROFESSOR E.V.K. FITZGERALD as Head of the Department of International Development for three years from 1 October 2007.

PROFESSOR P. KEMP as Head of the Department of Social Policy and Social Work for three years from 1 October 2007.

^ Return to Contents of this section


The composition of the electoral board to the post below, proceedings to fill which are currently in progress, is as follows:

Rolls-Royce/Academy of Engineering Professorship of Computational Aerothermal Engineering

                                                   Appointed by

The Principal of St Hugh's              Mr Vice-Chancellor [1]
The Principal of Lady Margaret Hall     ex officio
Professor J.J. McGuirk                  Council
Professor A. Arts                       Council
Professor P. Ligrani                    Mathematical, Physical and Life
                                        Sciences Board
Professor R.C. Darton                   Mathematical, Physical and Life
                                        Sciences Board
Professor W.N. Dawes                    Mathematical, Physical and Life
                                        Sciences Board
Professor Dr H. Ockenden                Mathematical, Physical and Life
                                        Sciences Board
Dr N. Hankins                           Lady Margaret Hall

The composition of the electoral board to the post below, proceedings to fill which will shortly be in progress, is as follows:

Professorship of Physical Geography

                                   Appointed by

Mr Vice-Chancellor                 ex officio
Professor R. Whittaker             Council
Professor M. Hulme                 Council
Professor M.J. Spence              Social Sciences Board
Professor G.L. Clark               Social Sciences Board
Professor D. Thomas                Social Sciences Board
Professor G.M. MacDonald           Social Sciences Board
Dr S. Watkinson                    St Hilda's College
Dr H. Viles                        St Hilda's College
[1] Appointed by Mr Vice-Chancellor under the provisions of Sects. 10 and 11 of Statute IX (Supplement (1) to Gazette No. 4633, 9 October 2002, Vol. 133, p. 108).

^ Return to Contents of this section