University of Oxford Homepage

Note. An asterisk against an entry in the Contents indicates a previously published notice.
University of Oxford Crest

Oxford University Gazette, 5 October 2006: University Acts


1 Oration by the Vice-Chancellor

Mr Vice-Chancellor addressed the House.

¶ The Oration has been published as Supplement (1) to Gazette No. 4781.

2 Admission of Pro-Vice-Chancellors

The following persons were nominated by the Vice-Chancellor to be his deputies for the year 2006–7 and were admitted to office:

DAME FIONA CALDICOTT, DBE, BM, B.CH., MA, Principal of Somerville College (Personnel and Equal Opportunities)

J. DELLANDREA (M.ED., ED.D. Toronto), Fellow of Magdalen College (Development and External Affairs)

PROFESSOR E.A. FALLAIZE, MA (MA, PH.D. Exeter), Fellow of St John's College (Education)

PROFESSOR E.G. MCKENDRICK, MA (LL.B. Edinburgh), Fellow of Lady Margaret Hall (Research, Academic Services and University Collections)

PROFESSOR R.W. AINSWORTH, MA, D.PHIL., Master of St Catherine's College

SIR ALAN BUDD, MA, D.PHIL. (B.SC. London, PH.D. Cambridge), Provost of Queen's College

PROFESSOR DAME AVERIL CAMERON, DBE, MA (PH.D. London), Warden of Keble College

A.W. DILNOT, CBE, MA, Principal of St Hugh's College

PROFESSOR DAME JESSICA RAWSON, DBE, MA, D.LITT. (MA, LITT.D. Cambridge), Warden of Merton College

SIR MICHAEL SCHOLAR, MA, D.PHIL. (MA, PH.D. Cambridge), KCB, President of St John's College

R.G. SMETHURST, MA, Provost of Worcester College

¶ Professor P.A. Slack, Principal of Linacre College, who was unable to attend the ceremony on 3 October, will be admitted to office as a Pro-Vice-Chancellor on another date.

3 Admission of Clerks of the Market

W. HAYES, MA, D.PHIL. (M.SC., PH.D. Dublin), Honorary Fellow of St. John's College, nominated by the Chancellor, and R.C.S. WALKER, MA, D.PHIL. (BA McGill), Fellow of Magdalen College, nominated by the Vice-Chancellor, were admitted to office as Clerks of the Market for the year 2006–7.

^ Return to Contents of this section


Register of Congregation

Mr Vice-Chancellor reports that the following names have been added to the Register of Congregation:

Barnwell, P.S., Kellogg

Bowl, M.R., Linacre

Carlarne, C.P., Wadham

Chebankova, E.A., Linacre

Cowan, R.W., Balliol

Emerson, E.J., St Hugh's

Gemmill, E.A., Kellogg

Gould, N.I.M., Exeter

Herzig, E.M., Wadham

Horobin, S.C.P., Magdalen

Jackson, B.E., University

Junod, K., Lincoln

Kallet, L., University

Kechagia, E., Keble

Klatt, M., New College

Maloy, K.J., Exeter

Nocke, V., Jesus

O'Mahony, C.I.R., Kellogg

Orchard, H.C., Exeter

Quinn, J.L., Pembroke

Roberts, M.A.J., Lincoln

Swift, L.A., Trinity

Turner, E.O., St Benet's Hall

Uzquiano Cruz, G., Pembroke

Van Calster, G., Faculty of Law

Van Doosselacre, Q., Nuffield

Whitehouse, H., Magdalen

Yeung, N.P., University

^ Return to Contents of this section