University of Oxford Homepage

Note. An asterisk against an entry in the Contents indicates a previously published notice.
University of Oxford Crest

Oxford University Gazette, 1 March 2007: Notices


Proposals for Honorary Degrees to be Conferred at the Encaenia in 2008, and for Degrees by Diploma

Members of Congregation are encouraged to suggest the names of people on whom such degrees might be conferred. Degrees by diploma are conferred on heads of state and royalty, and Encaenia honorary degrees are conferred at the University's annual ceremonial event. The Honorary Degrees Committee in considering possible honorands will focus on individuals in the following categories:

1. those of high academic distinction in the fields of research and scholarship of specific interest to the University of Oxford;

2. those distinguished in the visual, literary, musical, and performing arts;

3. those distinguished in business and industry;

4. those who have played a distinguished role in public life, for example in contributing to progress and change in society;

5. those who have made a significant contribution to the activities of the University of Oxford—such individuals would normally also fall into one of the categories above.

Within these categories, the committee will aim to produce a balanced list which takes account of the international dimension which characterises this University's activities.

Honorary degrees will not be conferred on anyone who holds, or who has retired from, a resident teaching, research, or administrative post within the University or in any college or other society, except in exceptional circumstances such as distinguished service outside the terms of his or her paid service or outstanding service well beyond the call of duty.

Nomination should be submitted on the approved application form, which is available from Miss Noon's office (telephone: Oxford (2)70008, e-mail: The completed form should be sent to Miss J. Noon, University Offices, Wellington Square, by Friday, 11 May, under 'strictly confidential' cover.

While informal soundings within the University will often be desirable, every effort should be made to ensure that publicity is not at any stage given to any specific proposal for the conferral of an honorary degree. All nominations will be considered in confidence by the Honorary Degrees Committee, which submits its report to Council at the beginning of Michaelmas Term. After discussion, Council will report back to the Honorary Degrees Committee which will arrive at a list of honorands to put to Congregation.

The names of those on whom degrees by diploma and honorary degrees have recently been conferred may be found in the University Calendar 2006–7, pp. 479–83.

This year's honorands are:

Daniel Barenboim

A.S. Byatt

James E. Carter

Sir Clive Granger

Baroness Hale of Richmond

Dr R.A. Lerner

Lord May of Oxford

Ariane Mnouchkine

Professor C.N.R. Rao

^ Return to Contents of this section


University Gazette: Publication Arrangements

The final Gazette of the present term will be published on 8 March, 15 March, and 22 March. Publication for Trinity Term will begin on 19 April. The usual deadlines will apply.

Ruskin School of Drawing and Fine Art

Performance of commissioned work: For you, only you

The Ruskin School of Drawing and Fine Art has commissioned a new project from artist Sonia Boyce that addresses itself to the boundary between classical music and sound art. Her project juxtaposes the specific role and use of voice in the early Renaissance music of Josquin Desprez with the extended vocal techniques of Greek composer Mikhail Karikis. For you, only you will be performed at 5 p.m. on 11, 12, and 13 April in Magdalen College Chapel by Karikis and Alamire, a consort of some of Britain's finest early music singers, at the end of a programme of related choral work for Easter Week. The performances will take place under the direction of David Skinner of Sidney Sussex College, Cambridge.

Tickets are available from Tickets Oxford (

^ Return to Contents of this section


Conferments and Reconferments of the Title of Visiting Professor

The Mathematical, Physical and Life Sciences Board has conferred the title of Visiting Professor upon the following:

Computational Science: PROFESSOR STEPHEN EMMOTT, B.SC York, PH.D Stirling, Director of Scientific Programmes and Director of Computational Science at Microsoft Research, for three years from 1 January 2007.

Earth Sciences: JOHN LUDDEN, B.SC Lanc, PH.D Manc, Executive Director of the British Geological Survey, for three years from 1 January 2007.

Physics: PROFESSOR JOHN WOMERSLEY, MA Camb, D.PHIL Oxf, Director of Particle Physics at CCLRC Rutherford Appleton Laboratory, for three years from 1 February 2007.

Schlumberger Visiting Professor in Mathematics: CHRISTOPHER FARMER, B.SC PH.D Exeter, Scientific Adviser at the Abingdon Technology Centre and Schlumberger Research Fellow in OCIAM, for three years from 1 March 2007.

The Mathematical, Physical and Life Sciences Board has reconferred the title of Visiting Professor upon the following:

Earth Sciences: PROFESSOR SIR KEITH O'NIONS, B.SC Nott, PH.D Alberta, for three years from 1 February 2007.

Physics: DR M.H.R. HUTCHINSON, for three years from 1 February 2007.

Physics: PROFESSOR SIR CHRISTOPHER LLEWELLYN-SMITH, FRS, for three years from 1 February 2007.

Schlumberger Visiting Professor in Mathematics: PROFESSOR L. MAHADEVAN, B.TECH MS Texas, MS PH.D Stanford, for three years from 1 February 2007.

^ Return to Contents of this section