University of Oxford Homepage

Note. An asterisk against an entry in the Contents indicates a previously published notice.
University of Oxford Crest

Oxford University Gazette, 1 February 2007: Notices


Registrar's Review of the Academic Division of the Central Administration

As part of the Registrar's programme of regular administrative reviews, the Academic Division will be reviewed primarily during Hilary Term by a panel chaired by Dr Ralph Walker, Magdalen College.

The Academic Division is headed by the Academic Registrar and Secretary of Faculties, Mr Michael Sibly. It comprises:

  • Academic Policy and Support
  • Planning and Resources
  • Divisional administration, and the Continuing Education secretary;
  • Secretariat of Academic Services and University Collections
  • Student Administration (Student Information Systems; Graduate Office; Examinations and Assessment; Buildings and Event Management (Examination Schools); Communications and Projects, including Congregation database and elections by Congregation to various bodies)
  • Undergraduate Admissions
  • Student Funding and Access Office
  • International Student Office

Information on the work of the various sections which make up the Academic Division of the Central Administration may be found at

The Review Panel membership comprises:

Dr Ralph Walker, Magdalen College and Philosophy Faculty (Chairman)

Mr Graham Allen, Academic Secretary, Cambridge

Mrs Lynn Clee, Cardiovascular Medicine Administrator

Professor Richard Darton, Head of the Department of Engineering Science, Fellow of Keble College

Mr Tim Gardam, Principal of St Anne's College

Ms Alice Perkins, external member of PRAC and Council

Dr Mark Philp, Department of Politics, Fellow of Oriel College

The Review Panel's terms of reference are as follows.

To review and report to the Registrar on:

(a) the appropriate remit, priorities and direction of the Academic Division of the Central Administration within the context of the University's Corporate Plan, with particular reference to the effectiveness and efficiency of its role in relation to the Collegiate University as a whole;

(b) the costs of the activities undertaken and the resources required by the Academic Division.

The Review Panel would particularly welcome views on the first of its terms of reference at (a), namely the role and future direction for the Academic Division, and the most effective ways it can relate to divisions, departments, faculties and colleges.

Anyone wishing to make a submission to the Review Panel should send it (via e-mail if at all possible) by Friday, 23 February to the panel secretary, Dr J. E. Sherwood, Jesus College, Oxford OX1 3DW (e-mail:

^ Return to Contents of this section


St John's College

Kendrew Chamber Music Recital Series

Artistic Director: Colin Carr

The following recitals will be given at 8.30 p.m. on the days shown in the Auditorium, St John's College. Admission is free, by programme, which may be obtained from the Porters' Lodge ten days before each recital. Enquiries should be directed to Daniel Parkes (e-mail:

Wed. 7 Feb. MELVYN TAN, fortepiano: Haydn, Sonata in F, no. 38, Hob XVI/23; Mozart, Eight Variations on 'Ein Weib ist das herrlichste Ding', K613, and Sonata in D, K311.

Mon. 28 May. THE PRAZAK QUARTET: Haydn, Quartet no. 5 in D, op. 76; Zemlinski, Quartet no. 1 in A, op. 4; Dvorák, Quartet in A flat, op. 105.

Mon. 11 June. ANDREW MARRINER, clarinet; ANI KAVAFIAN and LOUISE WILLIAMS, violins; CAROLINE WOLFF, viola, and COLIN CARR, cello: Mozart, Quintet for clarinet and strings in A, K581; Brahms, Quintet for clarinet and strings in B, op. 115.

^ Return to Contents of this section


Sibthorpian Professorship of Plant Science

NICHOLAS PAUL HARBERD, MD, PH.D Camb, Project Leader, John Innes Centre, Norwich, and Honorary Professor, Department of Cell and Developmental Biology, University of East Anglia, has been appointed Professor of Plant Science and Sibthorpian Professor-elect with effect from 1 August 2007. Upon the retirement of Professor C.J. Leaver, CBE, FRS, Professor Harberd will assume the Sibthorpian Professorship of Plant Science.

Professor Harberd will be a fellow of St John's College.

Conferments of the Title of Visiting Professor

The Medical Sciences Board has conferred the title of Visiting Professor of Infectious Diseases on T.T. HIEN, PH.D Edin, MD Saigon, currently Director, Hospital for Tropical Diseases, Ho Chi Minh City, for a period of three years from 1 January 2007.

The Medical Sciences Board has conferred the title of Visiting Professor of Medical Oncology on A.B. HASSAN, MB BS D.PHIL Oxf, B.SC Lond, currently Cancer Research UK Clinical Scientist, for a period of three years from 1 July 2007.

^ Return to Contents of this section