University of Oxford Homepage

Note. An asterisk against an entry in the Contents indicates a previously published notice.
University of Oxford Crest

Oxford University Gazette, 23 February 2006: University Acts


Declaration of approval of Resolution

That this House approves in principle the dissolution of the Life and Environmental Sciences Division and the transfer of its constituent departments to other divisions with effect from 1 April 2006 as follows:

Department                  Division 

Biochemistry                      Medical Sciences 

Plant Sciences                    Mathematical and Physical Sciences 

Zoology                           Mathematical and Physical Sciences 

Geography and the Environment     Social Sciences 

Anthropology                      Social Sciences 

Archaeology                       Social Sciences 

instructs Council to bring forward detailed proposals for the relevant changes in Statutes and Regulations as soon as practicable.

^ Return to Contents of this section


Changes in Regulations

Council has made the following changes in regulations, to come into effect on 10 March.

Sabbatical leave and dispensation from prescribed duties

In Council Regulations 4 of 2004, concerning the granting of sabbatical leave and dispensation from prescribed duties (Supplement (1) to Gazette No. 4703, 14 July 2004), delete existing regulation 1. (1) and substitute:

'1. (1) The following members of the academic staff shall be entitled to apply for sabbatical leave under the terms set out in these regulations: professors, readers, university lecturers, faculty lecturers, senior research officers, Keepers and Assistant Keepers in the Ashmolean Museum, clinical tutors, and clinical lecturers.'

[This change, made on the recommendation of the Personnel Committee, corrects the position regarding entitlement to sabbatical leave for senior research officers.]

^ Return to Contents of this section


Register of Congregation

Mr Vice-Chancellor reports that the following names have been added to the Register of Congregation:

Buzar, S.B., Christ Church

Elven, M.A., St John's

King, P.J., D.Phil., Pembroke

Lee, Y.C.G., Faculty of Clinical Medicine

MacLeod, R.M., St John's

Maxton, J.K., University Offices

Parrott, M.J., Brasenose

Prendergast, A.J., Wadham

Serignat, C.J., Greyfriars

Williams, R.J., Oxford University Centre for the Environment

^ Return to Contents of this section


For a change in regulations for examinations, to come into effect on 10 March, see 'Examinations and Boards' below.

^ Return to Contents of this section