University of
Oxford Homepage

Note. An asterisk against an entry in the Contents indicates a previously published notice.
University of Oxford Crest

Oxford University Gazette, 20 October 2005: Notices


Appointment of additional Pro-Proctor

In accordance with section 25 of Statute IX, the Senior Proctor has appointed THE REVD DR ELIZABETH CARMICHAEL, BM, MA, D.PHIL., to serve as an additional Pro-Proctor in Michaelmas Term 2005 to assist with certain of his public duties.

The Vice-Chancellor admitted Dr Carmichael to office on 13 October 2005.

Return to Contents of this section

Vice-Chancellor's Oration 2005


In the Vice-Chancellor's Oration (Supplement (1) to Gazette No. 4744), p. 97, Professor Susan Iversen is referred to as 'Acting Director of the James Martin Institute'. This should read 'Acting Director of the James Martin Twenty-first Century School'.

Return to Contents of this section

Lecture Lists, Hilary Term 2006

Files for the Hilary Term Lecture Lists should be supplied to Ms C. Kozeny, Publications Office, University Offices (e-mail:, by Monday, 28 November .

Entries for the Special Lecture List should be supplied to Ms Kozeny by Monday, 5 December .

Guidance on the formatting of Lecture List files can be found at

The Lecture Lists will be distributed at the beginning of noughth week. Copies will also be available for collection from the Oxford University Press Bookshop, 116 High Street.

Alterations to orders for the Lecture Lists should be notified to Ms Kozeny by 28 November.

The Lecture Lists will be available online, as PDF files, at, early in January. A page of amendments and changes to lecture arrangements can be found at the same site.

Return to Contents of this section


The revised composition of the electoral board to the post below, proceedings to fill which are currently in progress, is as follows.

Margaret Ogilvie's Professorship of Ophthalmology

                                        Appointed by

Sir Peter North (Chairman)                   Mr Vice-Chancellor [1]
The Principal of Linacre                ex officio
Dr K.R.G. Martin                        Council
Dr P. Firth                             Council
Professor J.I. Bell                     Medical Sciences Board
Professor A. Monaco                     Medical Sciences Board
Professor A.J. Parker                   Medical Sciences Board
Professor G. Black                      Medical Sciences Board
Mr P. Rosen                             ORHT
Professor A. Stein                      Linacre College
[1] Appointed by Mr Vice-Chancellor under the provisions of Sects. 10 and 11 of Statute IX (Supplement (1) to Gazette No. 4633, 9 October 2002, Vol. 133, p. 108).

Return to Contents of this section